Health & Life Sciences: Guides and Tutorials
Off-Campus Access via Proxy
:
Learn how gain off-line access to Queen's online resources.
Finding Articles
- List of Health & Life Sciences Databases
From this master list you can get to a database or click on "more info" to learn about it. Remember to investigate each database's 'help' or 'how to search' information to optimally utilize its search options. - Locating Full Text Articles From E-Journals

- OvidSP training for Medline, EMBASE etc.
For Self-Run tutorials see the third box down on the right side of the screen. - Ovid Hints and Shortcuts
- Ovid Exploding
:
When searching with subject headings, 'Explode' a term to retrieve articles with it as well as any terms indexed below it in the subject heading tree. - Ovid Focusing
:
When searching with subject headings, 'Focus' a term to retrieve articles where that term is the major topic. - PubMed - Bracken
A downloadable workbook for effective PubMed searching.
Web Resources
- Recommended Sites
A collection of tagged websites posted via del.icio.us - del.icio.us tutorial

- How to Evaluate Internet Sites
A checklist to help you assess the quality and accuracy of Internet resources.
Staying Up-to-Date using RRS Feeds
- RRS Feeds Information
- RSS & Internet Explorer 7

- RSS New Journal Alerts

- RSS Citation Alerts

- RSS New Articles for your Research Alerts

QCAT Library Catalogue
- Locating Course Reserves via QCAT

- QCAT Online Tutorial (History of Medicine Examples)
- About QCAT
Citing, Referencing & Bibliographies
- How to Cite
How to cite publications using various style guides, including how to cite electronic resources. - Avoiding Plagiarism

- RefWorks Guide
- RefWorks - Exporting from Ovid
How to export/import citations from Ovid databases into RefWorks. - RefWorks - Exporting from Web of Science
- RefWorks - Exporting List
On the left side of the screen, see 'Getting References into Your Account' then 'Importing from Online Data Vendors' for a list of databases and how to export articles from them. - Reference Manager
Organize references, cite while you write, generate bibliographies.
PowerPoint
- PowerPoint Creation
A guide on creating effective PowerPoint Presentations as well as a printable version of your PowerPoint Presentations. - PowerPoint Printing
A guide on how to properly print an existing PowerPoint Presentation. - How to Create Academic Posters Using PowerPoint

Last Updated: 08 June 2012