Queen's University - Utility Bar

Queen's University Library

Aboriginal Studies: Article Indexes

Journal articles are not listed in QCAT. Use an index to find magazine and journal articles. Articles are important in your research as they contain the most-up-to-date research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic. There are different types of articles: scholarly, popular or trade.

Tip: Remember to search journal title and not article title in QCAT

Key Indexes

  You are connecting from off-campus. You will be prompted to enter your NetID and password before connecting to a Queen's-only database.
Publication coverage: 1954 - present
Access restricted to the Queen's community (6 user limit)
Indexes over 2100 journals as well as books, book reviews and theses, from prehistoric times - present.
Covers all aspects of native North American culture, history and life.

Other Useful Indexes

  You are connecting from off-campus. You will be prompted to enter your NetID and password before connecting to a Queen's-only database.
Publication coverage: 1949-
Topics covered include Native Indian current affairs, land claims, health services, as well as articles on missions, mythology, spirituality, ....
Publication coverage: 1982 - present
First Nations Canadian journals indexed include the Canadian Journal of Native Studies, Native Studies Review [Canada], Windspeaker.
Publication coverage: Indexed articles: 1977 - present ; Full-text articles: 1983 - present
Print holdings: 1920 - 1998: Check QCAT
Provides "access to Canadian and American periodical literature" including historical journals.
Publication coverage: 1966 - present
Print holdings: Full-text of documents on microfiche in the Education Library: 1966 - present
Educational Resources Information Center. Indexes Education journals such as: Winds of change, American Indian Higher Education, Tribal College and Wicazo Sa Review. Sample keywords: American Indians, Indigenous peoples.
Online from 1998-
Indexes literature (20 journals) on all aspects of Native peoples.
Publication coverage: 1936-
Print holdings: REF Z1605.H2 from 1935-
Sample keywords: indigenous languages, indigenous knowledge (systems), self-determination, ethnobotany.
Publication coverage: 1925 - present
Indexes journals such as Studies in American Indian Literature; North Dakota Quarterly; American Indian Culture & Research, Canadian Journal of Native Studies. Sample keywords: folk-literature, fold narrative, oral history or search by author name: Sherman Alexie, Joy Harjo, Gerald Vizenor, Lee Maracle, Thomas King.

Last Updated: 01 September 2010