Queen's University - Utility Bar

Queen's University Library

Aboriginal Studies: Websites

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada

Information on aboriginal peoples and their heritage in Canada, with links to other aboriginal and native sites. Full text of historic treaties.

Aboriginal Connections

A comprehensive Web directory presenting categorized information about Canadian Aboriginal, Native American Indian, and International Indigenous sites (from Lakehead University). Over 2,000 native sites are currently listed.

Aboriginal Documentary Heritage (Library and Archives Canada)

This Web exhibition recounts first-hand information illustrating the complex and often contentious relationship between the Canadian government and Canada's Aboriginal people from the late 1700s to the mid-20th century.

Aboriginal Mapping Network

"A collection of resource pages for First Nation mappers who are looking for answers to common questions regarding mapping, information management and GIS."

Aboriginals: Treaties and Relations

Arctic Circle

Hosted at the University of Connecticut, this site seeks to expand knowledge of the Circumpolar North. Headings include natural resources, history & culture, social equity & environmental justice, museum, virtual classroom, and an Arctice Forum.

Assembly of First Nations

Banff Centre

A showcase of Aboriginal artists — writers, musicians, dancers and choreographers, visual and new media artists, and others — to research, conceive, and produce Aboriginal work with cultural integrity and artistic merit.

The British Columbia Assembly of First Nations

The website for the British Columbia Assembly of First Nations (BCAFN). The BCAFN is Political Territorial Organization (PTO) that represents the 203 First Nations in British Columbia.

Canada: A People's History

This web site is based on the CBC TV series. It includes a time-line, audio-visual downloads and a bibliography and reading list for each episode.

Center For World Indigenous Studies (CWIS)

Access to fourth world resources for indigenous Peoples including the Fourth World Journal, the Fourth World Institute, the Fourth World Documentation Project and the Center for Traditional Medicine.

Chiefs of Ontario

The coordinating body for 134 first nation communities, with information on political interests, fiscal relations, and community profiles.

Ethnologue Canada

Provides statistical information about First Nation languages in Canada including languages that are now extinct.

First Nation Information Project

Information is Canadian focused under such headings as culture, organizations, native businesses, news stories etc. Very useful links to other First Nations sites.

First Nations House of Learning - Xwi7xwa Library

This library (pronounced "whei-wah") is a branch of the University of British Columbia libraries. "All Xwi7xwa library materials are catalogued on the UBC Library catalogue." A good place to start your research.

First Nations Language Program

From the Woodland Cultural Centre's First Nations Language Program site. Provides brief information about the First Nations Languages in Ontario, the status of Aboriginal Languages in Canada, and programs and projects of the Woodland Cultural Center.

Hemispheric Institute of Performance and Politics

A consortium of institutions, artists, scholars, and activists dedicated to exploring the relationship between expressive behavior (broadly construed as performance) and social and political life in the Americas.

Hubert Wenger Eskimo Database

Searchable database of 200 books and journal articles written by explorers, missionaries, ethnographers, and others who were among the first Euroamericans to travel among and write about Inuit/Eskimo peoples. It includes out-of-print and hard to find material, basic works descriptive of each Inuit/Eskimo and Aleut group, drawings, photographs, and maps.

Hudson's Bay Company Archives : Archives of Manitoba

"Offers a wealth of information on the human and natural history of western and northern Canada and the western USA."

Index of Native American Resources on the Internet

Comprehensive subject index, under such headings as art, culture, electronic texts, history, museums, etc. (part of the WWW Virtual Library).

Indian Affairs Annual Reports, 1864-1990

Information on aboriginal peoples and their heritage in Canada, with links to other aboriginal and native sites.

iPortal - Indigenous Studies Portal

Developed by the University of Saskatchewan Library. Includes books, articles (both scholarly and general), theses, documents, photographs, archival resources, maps, review papers, etc.

Kappler's Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties

Compiled and edited by Charles J. Kappler from Oklahoma State University Library.

Languages of First Nations, Métis and Inuit Collections

This web site from the University of Saskatchewan provides a description of library collections across Canada. The contents are arranged by language.

Library and Archives Canada - Aboriginal Peoples

"Offers a selection of Library and Archives Canada resources on the topic of Aboriginal peoples" including Digital Collections, Research Aids and Virtual Exhibitions.

Métis National Council Historical Online Database

Presents information extracted from archival documents relevant to the historical Métis Nation. Includes high-resolution digital photography and scans of many original archival documents. Users can construct Métis family trees.

Mi'kmaq Portraits Collection

"A collection of portraits and illustrations in various media, of the Mi'kmaq of Atlantic Canada."

National Aboriginal Document Database

Search the full text of specific statutes/acts, court decisions, treaties, etc.

National Aboriginal Health Organization (NAHO)

Information of health issues and health research for aboriginal peoples.

Native American Sites

Home pages of individual First Nations, Native Organizations, Native Journals and Newsletters, Native Education sites, and general Native resources.

NativeWeb

Information here is broken down by cultural groups, subjects, geographic areas, languages, literatures, historical material, etc.

Red and Black Series Library and Archives Canada

The original central registry system for Indian Affairs headquarters records was established in 1872. At that time, a straight numeric file list (Red Series), typical of 19th-century registry systems, was set up. In 1882 a separate series (Black Series) was set up for Manitoba, the Northwest Territories, British Columbia and the Maritime provinces. The records of the Department of Indian and Northern Affairs' Red and Black Series are an incredible historical resource. They contain information pertaining to all aspects of human history, culture and language, exploration and land settlement, and resource development. They also provide documentation of the vast changes that took place in the Canadian federal government between 1872 and 1923.

Statistics Canada

For general information enter "Aboriginal Peoples". For language information, type in the phrase "Canada's Aboriginal Languages". An index of all related web pages will be listed.

Treaties, Surrenders and Agreements

Library and Archives Canada (LAC) holds an extensive, but not a complete, collection of historic Canadian Indian treaties, land surrenders, and related agreements (ITS).

University of Saskatchewan Libraries and the University Archives

Access to materials relating to the Northwest Resistance of 1885 held by the Special Collections Department of the University of Saskatchewan Libraries and the University of Saskatchewan Archives.

Where are the Children? Healing the Legacy of the Residential Schools

This exhibit "attempts to give voice to the untold stories of so many Aboriginal boys and girls who attended residential schools in Canada from 1831 to the 1990's". From the Legacy of Hope Foundation, Aboriginal Healing Foundation, and Library and Archives Canada.

Last Updated: 03 October 2014