Queen's University - Utility Bar

Queen's University Library

American History: Article Indexes

Journal articles are not listed in QCAT. Use an index to find magazine and journal articles. Articles are important in your research as they contain the most-up-to-date research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic. There are different types of articles: scholarly, popular or trade.

Tip: Remember to search journal title and not article title in QCAT

Key Indexes

  You are connecting from off-campus. You will be prompted to enter your NetID and password before connecting to a Queen's-only database.
Publication coverage: 1954 - present
Access restricted to the Queen's community (6 user limit)
Indexes over 1700 journals as well as books, book reviews and theses, from prehistoric times - present.
Covers all aspects of native North American culture, history and life. Covers from 16th century to present.

Other Useful Indexes

  You are connecting from off-campus. You will be prompted to enter your NetID and password before connecting to a Queen's-only database.
Publication coverage: 1830 - 1898
Magazine intended to entertain, inform and educate the women in America. Today considered to be one of the most important resources of 19th century American life and culture.
Publication coverage: 1915 - present
Public Affairs Information Service, indexes books, pamphlets, reports, journals and government documents, including American history sources.
Publication coverage: Pre-1925
Provides access to popular and general interest Anglo-American and European periodicals from the 19th century and early 20th century.
Publication coverage: 1983 - present
Print holdings: REF AI3.R2 from 1900- (Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature)
REF AP3.R496 (1890-1922) (Nineteenth Century Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature)
Indexes U.S. periodicals of broad, general and popular character.
Portal for slavery and abolition studies.

Last Updated: 17 July 2009