Queen's University - Utility Bar

Queen's University Library

American History: Bibliographies

Consult bibliographies to find a comprehensive list of sources on a specific topic or a selective list of key works on a topic. To find out what bibliographies the Library has, do a subject search in QCAT.

American Economic History: a Guide to Information Sources
REF Z7165.U5H89

Includes reference to books and journal articles covering the period from the colonial era to 1960.

American Foreign Relations since 1600: a Guide to the Literature
REF Z6465.U5G84 2003

This second edition covers five centuries, from America's colonial era to the end of the twentieth century and includes more than 16,000 annotated entries from books, essays, journal articles, document works and reference works dealing with foreign relations. Organized in chronological/topical chapters.

American Studies: an Annotated Bibliography
REF Z1361.C6A436 1986

American Studies: an Annotated Bibliography, 1984-1988
REF Z1361.C6S35 1990

Provides detailed annotations for books published 1900 through 1988 that fall into eleven distinct areas of American Studies. Topics covered are Anthropology and Folklore, Art and Architecture, History, Literature, Music, Political Science, Popular Culture, Psychology, Religion, Science and Technology, and Sociology.

Guide to Historical Literature
REF Z6201.A5

A select bibliography covering history and related subjects for many countries. Arranged in broad subject and country groups, with brief annotations.

Harvard Guide to American History
REF Z1236.F77

This guide is the basic reference bibliography for American history. Includes citations to both books and journal articles. The two volume set is an indispensable first source.

Oxford Bibliographies Online

Lists books, journals, primary documents, web resources, and multimedia in various discipline-based subject modules including Atlantic History.

Religion and Society in North America: an Annotated Bibliography
REF Z7831.R44

Includes articles published from 1973-80, relating to religion and religious experience in the United States and Canada since the 17th century.

U.S. Cultural History: a Guide to Information Sources
REF Z1361.C6M57

Annotated guide to studies on American cultural history produced since 1950 but with significant works published earlier added.

Women in American History: a Bibliography
REF Z7962.H37

Two volume set contains article abstracts and annotations published between 1964 and 1984.

Last Updated: 20 June 2011