American History: Biographies
Consult biographical dictionaries to get brief information about people, dates and events. For more sources, see Biographical Resources.
Black Women in America: an Historical
Encyclopedia
REF E185.86.B542 1993
- Two volume comprehensive set looks at the lives and contributions of African American women from 1619 to 1992. Includes chronology and classified list.
Biography Index
REF Z5301.B61
Concise Dictionary of American Jewish
Biography
REF E184.J5C563 1994
- This two volume set contains about 24,000 terse entries, following the factual style of Who's Who rather than the lengthy narrative of many other biographical dictionaries.
Dictionary of American
Biography
REF E176.D5
- Twenty volume set containing scholarly articles about prominent Americans who died prior to 1927. Seven supplements bring the coverage up to 1965.
Dictionary of American Negro
Biography
REF E185.96.D53 1982
- This dictionary has scholarly articles on prominent blacks, both men and women, who have achieved prominence in American history. Brief biographies are included.
North American Indian Thought and Culture
- Includes biographies, autobiographies, oral histories, reference works, manuscripts, and photographs.
Notable American Women, 1607-1950: A
Biographical Dictionary
REF CT3260.N57
- Three volume set provides biographical essays of more than 1350 women with bibliographical references at the end of each essay.
Notable American Women: The Modern
Period
REF CT3260.N573
POTUS: Presidents of the United States
- "...background information, election results, cabinet members, notable events, and some points of interest on each of the presidents."
Who was Who in America
REF E663.W61
- Library has from 1607 to 1976.
Who's Who in America
REF E663.W6
Last Updated: 15 March 2011