Welcome! This is a selective guide of tools to help you do research in Art Conservation.
Core Research Databases
Publication coverage: 1955 - present
- A comprehensive database of 100,000 abstracts of literature related to the preservation and conservation of material cultural heritage. (formerly Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts).
Publication coverage: 1980 - present (updated weekly)
- Covers over 100 international journals, equipment manufacturers' application notes, standards and books.
Publication coverage: 1850s-
- Architectural information and citations to periodical articles and books about buildings in Toronto.
Publication coverage: 1984 - present
For 1907-1984 coverage see: Art Index Retrospective
Print holdings: Library also has older volumes in print: check QCAT for details.
- Index to scholarly journal articles on art and related disciplines (anthropology, architecture, design, video art, etc.). Emphasis is on Western art.
Publication coverage: 1929 - 1984
Access restricted to the Queen's community (1 user limit)
- Index to scholarly art journals and other materials published prior to 1985.
Publication coverage: 1974 - present
- Indexes writing and research on all forms of modern and contemporary art.
Publication coverage: 1934-present (plus selective coverage back to 1741) - updated weekly
- Comprehensive index to articles on architecture and design published in scholarly and popular-press American and international journals.
Publication coverage: 1955 - present
- Nearly 200,000 citations to technical reports, conference proceedings, journal articles, books and audiovisual and unpublished materials. The database also includes previously unavailable material from private sources, as well as new information gathered by a worldwide network of contributors.
Publication coverage: 1973 to 2007
- Comprehensive index to European and American art from late antiquity to the present. Abstracts books, articles, conference proceedings, essays, dissertations, exhibition and dealers’ catalogues. Covers painting, sculpture, drawing, prints, architecture, crafts, decorative, applied, graphic, folk and popular arts.
Publication coverage: 1954 - present
Access restricted to the Queen's community (6 user limit)
- Comprehensive index for historical studies worldwide EXCLUDING the United States and Canada.
Publication coverage: 2008-present
- IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA). Includes records created by the Getty Research Institute in 2008-09, with new records created by ProQuest using the same thesaurus and authority files. Abstracts 500+ core journals, monographs, essay collections, conference proceedings and exhibition catalogues. Covers European art since late antiquity; American art since the colonial period; global art since 1945; fine art in all media; decorative arts and antiques; museum studies and conservation; archaeology and material culture; folk art; architectural history.
Publication coverage: 1843 - present
- Iter was created for the advancement of learning in the study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700) through the development of online resources.
Publication coverage: 1966 to present (updated monthly)
Print holdings: Metals Abstracts: Vol. 1 (1966) - Vol. 31 (1998) in the Engineering and Science Library; call number: TN1 .M473.
- Materials science including metals, polymers, ceramics, plastics and composite materials, practices of materials science and engineering as they relate to these substances and technical and commercial development in material science.
Publication coverage: 1907 - present.
Print holdings: 1907 - 1999 (v. 1 - v. 131) in Stauffer Library storage.
- Search Chemical Abstracts, Medline, the Registry File, and CAS React.