Queen's University - Utility Bar

Queen's University Library

Art: Article Databases

Journal articles are not listed in QCAT. Use a database to find magazine and journal articles. Articles are important in your research as they contain the most-up-to-date research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic. There are different types of articles: scholarly, popular or trade.

Tip: Remember to search journal title and not article title in QCAT

Major Databases for Art, Architecture and Art History

  You are connecting from off-campus. You will be prompted to enter your NetID and password before connecting to a Queen's-only database.
Publication coverage: 1984 - present
For 1907-1984 coverage see: Art Index Retrospective

Print holdings: Library also has older volumes in print: check QCAT for details.
Abstracts more than 220 journals, yearbooks and museum bulletins.
Publication coverage: 1929 - 1984
Access restricted to the Queen's community (1 user limit)
International index to more than 220 journals, yearbooks and museum bulletins.
Publication coverage: 1974 - present
Indexes and abstracts all forms of modern and contemporary art (including art movements, crafts, design, photography, and traditional media), dating from the late 19th century onward.
Publication coverage: 1934-present (plus selective coverage back to 1741) - updated weekly
Indexes over 700 American and international journals on all aspects of architecture and design.
Comprehensive index to European and American art from late antiquity to the present. Abstracts books, articles, conference proceedings, essays, dissertations, exhibition and dealers’ catalogues. Covers painting, sculpture, drawing, prints, architecture, crafts, decorative, applied, graphic, folk and popular arts.
IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA). Includes records created by the Getty Research Institute in 2008-09, with new records created by ProQuest using the same thesaurus and authority files. Abstracts 500+ core journals, monographs, essay collections, conference proceedings and exhibition catalogues. Covers European art since late antiquity; American art since the colonial period; global art since 1945; fine art in all media; decorative arts and antiques; museum studies and conservation; archaeology and material culture; folk art; architectural history.

Major Databases for Art Conservation

  You are connecting from off-campus. You will be prompted to enter your NetID and password before connecting to a Queen's-only database.
Indexes international literature of conservation and heritage management, offered free by the Getty Institute. Formerly Art & Archaeology Technical Abstracts.
Conservation Information Network's bibliographical database(BCIN)for conservation literature. Includes the Art & Archaeology Technical Abstracts prior to 1998, technical reports, conference proceedings, journal articles, books and audiovisual and unpublished materials.

More Article Indexes and Databases for Art Conservation >>

Other Databases for Art

  You are connecting from off-campus. You will be prompted to enter your NetID and password before connecting to a Queen's-only database.
Publication coverage: 1975 - present
Indexes scholarly articles on topics, including art.
Publication coverage: Varies with publication
Index to over 700 Canadian journals and newspapers.
Publication coverage: 1972 - present
Useful for feminist perspective in art.
Text and image database of works of art from Princeton University and other institutional and private owners.
Access restricted to the Queen's community (8 user limit)

All Databases for Art >>

Last Updated: 27 February 2013