Queen's University - Utility Bar

Queen's University Library

Art: Biographical Dictionaries

Grove Art Online
Online

Web access to The Dictionary of Art (N31 .D5 1996t, 33 vols. SL Reference Collection). A comprehensive encyclopaedia for the history of the visual arts, including bio-bibliographical information.

Allgemeines Künstlerlexikon
N40 .A63 1991: 1991- (Art Collection)

Biographies and bibliographies of artists worldwide, from antiquity to today.

Biographical dictionary of women artists in Europe and America since 1850 (Dunford)
N6757 .D86 1990t (SL Reference Collection)

Biographical index of artists in Canada (McMann)
N6548 .M29 2003 (SL Reference Collection)

Bryan's dictionary of painters and engravers
N40 .B9 1964 (Art Collection)

The standard universal English dictionary of artists.

Contemporary artists (Naylor)
N6490 .C6567 1989 (SL Reference Collection; 1977 ed. in Art Collection)

Single volume source on approximately 1700 artists; lists of works; some illustrations.

Contemporary Canadian artists
N6548 .M65 1997t (Art Collection)

Contemporary women artists (Hillstrom)
N8354 .C66 1999 (SL Reference Collection)

Dictionary of Canadian artists (Macdonald)
N6548 .M172. 7 vols. A to F of 5th ed., 1997, more to come. Published 1967-1990. (Art Collection)

Historical and contemporary.

Dictionary of women artists (Gaze)
N8354 .D53 1997 2 vols. (SL Reference Collection)

Dictionary of women artists : an international dictionary of women artists born before 1900 (Petteys)
N43 P47 1985 (Art Collection)

Dictionary of women in religious art (Apostolos-Cappadona)
N7793 .W65 A66 1998 (SL Reference Collection)

Dictionnaire critique et documentaire des peintres, sculpteurs, dessinateurs et graveurs de tous les temps et de tous les pays (Benezit)
N40 .B47 1999 14 vols. (Art Collection)

After Thieme-Becker, the most useful dictionary of artists.

Early painters and engravers in Canada (J. Russell Harper)
N6548 .H3 (Art Collection, SL Reference, LP Collection)

First nation artists in Canada
E98 .A7 A16t 2001 (SL Reference)

International dictionary of art and artists
N31 .I57. 2 vols. 1990 (Art Collection)

This work covers the 13th-20th centuries.

Kindlers Malerei Lexicon
ND30 .K54 6 vols. (Art Collection)

Brief biographies of painters; comprehensive; many coloured illustrations.

The new A to Z of Canadian art (B. McKendry)
N6540 .M155 2001 (Art Collection)

North American women artists of the twentieth century : a biographical dictionary (Heller)
N6503 .N67 1995 (SL Reference Collection)

Thieme-Becker Kunstlerlexikon
N40 .T43. Published 1907-50. 37 vols. (Art Collection)

Full title is: Allgemeines Lexikon der bildenden Kunstler...by U. Thieme and F. Becker. International, ancient to modern times. Brief biographies, scholarly, comprehensive, especially good for obscure artists. Lists of artists' works with dates. No illustrations. Supplemented by:

Allgemeines Lexikon der bildenden Kuenstler des xx. Jahrhunderts (Hans Vollmer)
N40 .V92 1953-62. 6 vols.(Art Collection)

Continues coverage of artists in 20th century.

Le vite de' piu eccellenti pittori, scultori ed architettori ...(Vasari)
N6922 .V3. Several editions; multi-volumes. (Art Collection)

Originally published ca. 1550 and 1568. Includes biographies of Italian Renaissance artists. Italian; English translations.

Last Updated: 08 April 2009