Queen's University - Utility Bar

Queen's University Library

Biographical Resources: Specialized

Queen's libraries hold a large number of specialized biographical resources. A few titles are listed below. For a more complete list, go to the appropriate subject guide.

Aboriginal Studies Art
Asian Studies Canadian Literature
Classical Studies Economics
English Film and Media
French Gender Studies
Geography German
Global Development Studies Government Information
History Jewish Studies
Kinesiology and Health Studies Literary
Philosophy Political Studies
Religious Studies Science / History of Science and Technology
Theatre / Drama  

History

The Blackwell Dictionary of Historians
REF D14.B58 1988t

Great Historians from Antiquity to 1800 : an International Dictionary
REF D14.G74 1989

Encyclopedia of Historians and Historical Writing
REF D14.E53 1999

Who's Who in Gay and Lesbian History: from Antiquity to World War II
REF HQ75.2.W46 2001t

See biographies under country specific history guides, American, British, Canadian, Medieval, European, and Western Intellectual.

Literary

Contemporary Authors
REF Z1224.C59
REF Z1224.C592t
REF Z1224.C76

This multi volume series provides biographical information on over one hundred thousand modern novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, journalists and scriptwriters. Sketches include personal information, career history, writings, biographical/critical sources and authors' comments and/or essays about their lives and work.

Dictionary of Literary Biography
REF

Consult QCAT under the series title (see above title) for individual call numbers. Each volume of this work is devoted to a different period, style, or dimension of American or British literary history.

Science

American Men and Women of Science
Q141.C3 1971-2005 (Engineering & Science REF)

Basic biographical information on prominent people in the physical, social and behavioural sciences.

Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography (online)

Provides information on the history of science through articles on the professional lives of scientists. All periods of science from classical antiquity to modern times are represented.

Biographical Encyclopedia of Scientists (online)

Focuses on scientific achievement. Concentrates on the 'traditional pure’ sciences.

Last Updated: 12 April 2011