Queen's University - Utility Bar

Queen's University Library

Biological Sciences: Article Indexes & Databases

Core Research Databases

  You are connecting from off-campus. You will be prompted to enter your NetID and password before connecting to a Queen's-only database.
Publication coverage: 1926 - present (updated weekly)
All areas of life science including agriculture, biochemistry, biotechnology, ecology, immunology, microbiology, molecular genetics, neuroscience, pharmacology, public health, toxicology, zoology.
BIOSIS journal abbreviations
Manuals for research methods and techniques in molecular and cellular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, and imaging.
Publication coverage: Some coverage back to 1998 but indexing is primarily 2000 - present
Fulltext articles from 65 high-impact bioscience research journals produced by society and non-commercial publishers
Publication coverage: 1970-
Produced by the National Agricultural Library. Citations only.

Related Research Databases

  You are connecting from off-campus. You will be prompted to enter your NetID and password before connecting to a Queen's-only database.
Publication coverage: Varies by journal start date.
Comprehensive collection of critical reviews by leading scientists, covering 29 disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences.
Publication coverage: 1973 - present
Multidisciplinary database covering all aspects of human impact on the environment.
Publication coverage: Varies by title
Access to hundred of reference books and databases in major engineering areas, many titles come with interactive tools that allow you to work on engineering and scientific data and create your own tables and graphs.
Current Research @ Queen's indexes and abstracts dissertations and theses defended at Queen's University. Full-text available for titles published after 1996. Microfiche copies of Queen's thesis are available in Stauffer library.
Publication coverage: Varies by journal title
Full-text of the online journals published by several major academic publishers, such as American Chemical Society, Blackwell, Elsevier, Springer, etc.
Publication coverage: 1980 - present
Physical and human geography, geology, ecology, and Third World studies.
Publication coverage: Varies with publication.
Provides online access to the entire "backrun" of scholarly journals in the humanities, music, social sciences, business, mathematics and basic science, botany and ecology.
Online Electronic Textbooks, Health & Life Sciences Databases
Publication coverage: 1806-
A good source of information on animal behaviour.
Publication coverage: 1973 - present
Information related to human health and communicable diseases.
Publication coverage: Publication coverage: 1948 –
Print holdings: Index Medicus 1879-2002 at the Bracken Health Sciences Library
Comprehensive coverage of medicine, life science and health administration. Indexes 8,400 journals.
Publication coverage: 1800 - present
Access restricted to the Queen's community (4 user limit)
Indexes over 2,000 international journals in the fields of sport, fitness, exercise and related disciplines, as well as books, dissertations, conference proceedings, and reviews.
Publication coverage: 1900 - present
Access restricted to the Queen's community (50 user limit)
Online version of Science Citation Index
Database indexes 8,500 leading scholarly research journals.

All Databases for Biology

All Databases for Engineering & Science

Last Updated: 03 April 2009