Queen's University - Utility Bar

Queen's University Library

Book Reviews: Multidisciplinary Indexes

  You are connecting from off-campus. You will be prompted to enter your NetID and password before connecting to a Queen's-only database.
Publication coverage: 1991 - present (updated quarterly)
Print holdings: 1969 - present Access restricted to the Queen's community (2 user limit)
Covers journals with radical points of view. Online, Limit Article Type to book Reviews. In print, citations to book reviews are listed alphabetically by author under the heading Book Reviews in the main section.
Publication coverage: 1965 - present
Selects reviews from a much broader range of general periodicals than Book Review Digest, but BRI only cites reviews and does not include review excerpts. Arranged alphabetically by author's last name with a title index at the back. Journal titles are abbreviated. Full titles are listed at the front and back of each volume.

See also the guide to Book Reviews in the English Language and Literature subject guide.

Publication coverage: Varies by publication.
Access restricted to the Queen's community (5 user limit)
Provides access to full-text book reviews from scholarly and general magazines, as well as book review sections from major newspapers from 1981 onwards.
Tip: Type the author's last name and the title of the book and the word "review".
Index to Book Reviews in England, 1749-1774
REF Z1035.A1F67 1990
Index to Book Reviews in England, 1775-1800
REF Z1035.A1F675 1997t
Provides full-text book reviews from newspapers and magazines. Search book title, followed by and book review or review (for a broader search). Date coverage dependent on publication.
Publication coverage: Sept. 21, 2000-present
Microfilm holdings: 1983-88
Searchable index of the magazine's content from 1963 to present.
Full text of all reviews published since 1996 in the Sunday book reviews.
Publication coverage: 1851-2009

Online: go to More Search Options and select review as Article Type.

Print index: REF AI21 .N5 from 1851- (Index Shelves)
Citations to book reviews are listed under Book Reviews alphabetically by title; they can also be found under the author of the book reviewed.

Full-text reviews also available online through Lexis Nexis and Factiva from 1980 onwards.

Nineteenth Century Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature
REF AP3.R496 (1890-1922) 2 vols.
Citations to book reviews are listed under the author's last name, then by title of book. See Readers' Guide Abstracts for more recent reviews...
Publication coverage: Pre-1925
Indexes popular and general interest Anglo-American and European periodicals from 19th century and early 20th century.
Publication coverage: 1983 - present
Print holdings: REF AI3.R2 from 1900- (Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature)
REF AP3.R496 (1890-1922) (Nineteenth Century Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature)

Citations to book reviews from popular magazines and journals since 1976/77. They are listed in the Book Reviews section at the back of each printed index.

Electronically, either type words from the title, followed by and book review or select BOOK-REVIEW under Document Type by changing search limits.

Microfilm AN4.L6T56 (1785- excluding latest 2-3 months)
Publication coverage: 1994-1 month ago
Microfilm holdings: 1902-present
Indexes 45 major 19th century British monthlies and quarterlies.

Last Updated: 10 January 2013