Queen's University - Utility Bar

Queen's University Library

Book Reviews: Humanities Indexes

  You are connecting from off-campus. You will be prompted to enter your NetID and password before connecting to a Queen's-only database.
Publication coverage: 1984 - present
For 1907-1984 coverage see: Art Index Retrospective

Print holdings: Library also has older volumes in print: check QCAT for details.

To find citations to book reviews in art journals, type words from the title, followed by and book review or limit search to Document Type - Book Review by going to the No Search Limits Set box on the top right and selecting Change.

In the print edition, look at the last section of each volume.

Publication coverage: 1975 - present
To limit your search to book reviews, select database (AHCI), then click Advanced Search and highlight Book Review in the box under "Restrict search by languages and document types".
Publication coverage: 1949-
To find citations to book reviews in religious journals, type words from the title, followed by and review. Or, limit your results to Publication Type - by choosing Review from the drop-down menu.
Catholic Periodical and Literature Index
REF AI3.C3
Indexes the "currently significant Catholic periodicals". Includes a separate book review section.
Contemporary Literary Criticism
REF PN771.C59 from 1973-2010
Selected excerpts (including complete citations) from critical writings about contemporary literary and scholarly authors. A companion publication, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, covers authors who lived from 1900-1960. For criticism of literary works before 1900, check the Gale Literary Criticism Series found in Reference.
from 1993-
"Maintained by Michigan State University, this site provides book reviews of academic books. Reviews are written by members of the academic community."
Publication coverage: 1996 - present
Reviews new books on historical topics. Covers all geographical areas and time periods.
Publication coverage: 1984 - present
For articles published 1907-1984 see Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective

Good place to start to find citations to book reviews appearing in humanities journals. Type words from the title, followed by and book review.

Or go to the No Search Limits Set box on the top right and select Change. Under Document Type, choose Book-Review.

In the database covering the years 1907-1984, type words from the title and select Book Review from the Document Type menu.

Index to Book Reviews in the Humanities
REF Z1035.A1I38 (1961-1990)
Citations to reviews are listed alphabetically by author and include a number for the journal title. This number must be checked at the front of each index to get the journal title. From 1960-71, indexing was selective. From 1971, all reviews from indexed journals (about 700) are printed.
Publication coverage: From Vol. 1 of each journal to within 2-5 years of current volume.
To find book reviews go to Limit by Type and check the reviews box.
Literary Reviews in British Periodicals
REF Z2013.W36
1789 - 1820
Three volumes cover 1789 - 1820 and are a checklist of reviews.
Publishes reviews of current books (back to 1993) in medieval studies.
Music Index
ML118.M98 (1949-1996) Music REF
See author under heading, "Book Reviews" in main section.
Publication coverage: 1976 - present (with some backfile indexing from 1962-1975)
Under Publication Type choose printed material review.
Publication coverage: 1940-

Go to the No Search Limits Set box on the top rights and click Change. Under Document Type, choose Book-Review.

Or, type the title of the book (or words from the title and/or author), followed by and book reviews.

Publication coverage: Varies by title
Coverage varies by title, beginning no earlier than 1993. To find book reviews, choose Advanced Search and then select Review under the pulldown menu under Limit Search - By Type.
Publication coverage: 1967 - present (updated monthly)
Access restricted to the Queen's community (4 user limit)
A good source for reviews of books in music. To find reviews, type words from the title and then select keyword, title or reviewed work. Limit to Reviews under Document Type.

Last Updated: 08 April 2009