Queen's University - Utility Bar

Queen's University Library

British History: Article Indexes

Journal articles are not listed in QCAT. Use an index to find magazine and journal articles. Articles are important in your research as they contain the most-up-to-date research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic. There are different types of articles: scholarly, popular or trade.

Tip: Remember to search journal title and not article title in QCAT

Key Indexes

  You are connecting from off-campus. You will be prompted to enter your NetID and password before connecting to a Queen's-only database.
Publication coverage: 55BC - present
Access restricted to the Queen's community (3 user limit)
Covers history of the British Isles, and of the British Empire and Commonwealth. Indexes books, articles in collective volumes, and about 700 journals.
Publication coverage: 1954 - present
Access restricted to the Queen's community (6 user limit)
Time period is from 1450 to the present. Indexes over 1700 journals published worldwide, selected books and dissertations.

Other Useful Indexes

  You are connecting from off-campus. You will be prompted to enter your NetID and password before connecting to a Queen's-only database.
Publication coverage: 1680s - 1930s
A collection of facsimile page images and searchable full text for hundreds of British periodicals. Topics covered include: literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.
Collection of digital facsimiles of English newspapers and journals, with wide-ranging topics including the writings of Sir Isaac Newton, the French Revolution, reviews of literature and much more....
Publication coverage: 1967-
Covers all aspects of European medieval studies from 450 to 1500.
Subscription purchased by MacIsaac Memorial Fund in memory of Vera May MacIsaac, BA 1925
Publication coverage: Varies with publication.
Electronic journal archive includes such titles as: Eighteenth-Century Studies, Journal of Modern History.
Material from and about Mass Observation, the British social research organization. Mass Observation Online and Mass Observation I are available.
Publication coverage: 1800-1900
Collection of magazines, journals and specialty newspapers provides an in-depth view of life in the Victorian age.
Publication coverage: 1802-1995
Facsimile page images and searchable full-text for approximately 500 international and scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Publication coverage: Pre-1925
Indexes popular and general interest Anglo-American and European periodicals from 19th century and early 20th century.
Publication coverage: Varies by title
Scholarly electronic journals, include such titles as: Journal of Colonialism and Colonial History, Journal of Interdisciplinary History, Victorian Studies.
Web version of 5 volume set that indexes 45 major 19th century British monthlies and quarterlies.

Last Updated: 17 July 2009