Use the databases described in Articles to learn more about companies and the industries they're in. Search company names and people, use 'keywords' that describe the product, technology, or industry sector. In business research no single article or source will provide all the answers. Bits of Information from a variety of sources will however start to add up to a coherent picture.
Annual Reports
... are the primary source of corporate financial information for publicly-held companies. A public company's annual report is available on its website. If the company is private, annual reports will not be available for public distribution. More... finding annual reports.
Financials
- Compustat provides fundamental and market information on active and inactive publicly held companies. It provides more than 300 annual and 100 quarterly Income Statement, Balance Sheet, Statement of Cash Flows, and supplemental data items.
Access to Standard & Poor's Compustat is via individual accounts with WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services).
Publication coverage: Daily updates for current data.
- Historical Reports, Investor Reports and Industry Reports on Canada's leading 500 publicly traded companies. Includes Dividends, Corporate Surveys ....
Publication coverage: Varies by publication.
Access restricted to the Queen's community (5 user limit)
- See Companies/Markets section, which includes financial data.
Publication coverage: Varies
- Key facts about many corporations, (including some private),
and their revenue amount, dividend records, earnings guides and
equity, bond and mutual fund reports. Also, industry surveys covering more than 50 industries and 100 sub-industries.
Access restricted to the Queen's community (5 user limit)
NOTE: It is important to Log Out when your search is completed. Click on the Log Out icon at the top right of the screen.
Overview/Company Overview provides a comprehensive overview of a company. It includes key fundamentals, the latest transactions, the latest five deals, research reports, news and significant developments, and the top five shareholders. There is a Public Profile tab and a Private Profile tab. Data is global and continuously updated.
Research/Company Research provides in-depth research reports developed by expert analysts at nearly 1600 of the world's top investment banks, brokerage houses, and research firms. Research reports are global in coverage and become available as soon as their release terms allow - from 3 days to a few weeks after release. Historical research reports are available back to 1982.
Also known as: Investext
Publication coverage: Current
- Lists key numbers, competitors, rankings, history, people, and products.
Lexis/Nexis provides full-text access to a large range of
publications. After logging in, the next step is to choose by
source, country, or company name.
Publication coverage: Jan. 1997-
- SEDAR (System for Electronic Document Analysis and Retrieval) is the system used for electronically filing most securities related information with the Canadian Securities Administrators (regulators of Canadian securities). Filing with SEDAR started January 1, 1997, and is now mandatory for most reporting issuers in Canada. It includes annual reports, financial statements, annual information forms, directors circulars, prospectuses, press releases, takeover bid circulars, early warning reports, and proxies.
Publication coverage: Jan. 1995-
- EDGAR (Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval system) contains SEC (Securities and Exchange Commission) Filings for US public companies and foreign issuers. Filings include Form 10-K annuals, 10-Q and 8-K reports, prospectuses, ownership, executive and board compensation and current announcements.
- A comprehensive source of information on approximately 1,700 stocks, more than 90 industries, the stock market, and the economy. Contains company and performance data, provides a 3-5 probable relative performance, projections of key financial measures, and concise commentary on current operations and future prospects.
Profiles & Directories
Publication coverage: Daily updates for current data.
- Historical Reports, Investor Reports and Industry Reports on Canada's leading 500 publicly traded companies. Includes Dividends, Corporate Surveys .... Start with Company Snapshots.
Publication coverage: Current
- "... information about companies, industries, and the people
who lead them." Includes competitor information.
Access restricted to the Queen's community (3 user limit)
- Corporate profiles of public and private companies and their executives. Includes company corporate trees.
Publication coverage: 1886 - present
- Search Company Profiles under the Browse
menu on the right, for Datamonitor Reports.
Publication coverage: Varies
- Provides access to S & P's Register of Corporations, Executives and Directors as well as key facts about many corporations, including their revenue amount, dividend records, earnings guides and equity, bond and mutual fund reports.
Access restricted to the Queen's community (5 user limit)
NOTE: It is important to Log Out when your search is completed. Click on the Log Out icon at the top right of the screen.
Overview/Company Overview provides a comprehensive overview of a company. It includes key fundamentals, the latest transactions, the latest five deals, research reports, news and significant developments, and the top five shareholders. There is a Public Profile tab and a Private Profile tab. Data is global and continuously updated.
Research/Company Research provides in-depth research reports developed by expert analysts at nearly 1600 of the world's top investment banks, brokerage houses, and research firms. Research reports are global in coverage and become available as soon as their release terms allow - from 3 days to a few weeks after release. Historical research reports are available back to 1982.
Also known as: Investext
- Supersedes the Canadian Social Investment Database. Provides environmental, social, and governance performance research and analysis, sustainability benchmarks, and responsible investment services. Currently assesses Canadian companies only.
- Buyer's guide providing information on more than 170,000 classes of products made in the U.S. and Canada, the businesses that make them, and their locations. Search by product, company or brand name.
Principal International Businesses (Dun & Bradstreet)
HF54.U5P74 Latest in REF
- Directory of worldwide industrial product information.
Who Owns Whom. North & South America
HG4538.W423 from 1998- (Latest edition in Reference)
- Provides company connections, subsidiaries, parent companies, nationalized industries and state holding companies.
Rankings
Canadian Business 
- Includes Investor 500 (outlooks for key sectors and the best bets in each, published in the July issue and Tech 100 (Click on Technology - Companies to find the annual listing of Canada's largest publicly traded technology companies.
Financial Post 500 
Forbes.com
- Includes links to:
Forbes 2000 (top 2000 global companies)
American's Largest Private Companies
Inc. 500
- America's fastest growing privately held companies:
- The 200 Best Small Companies
America's Best Big Companies
Report on Business Magazine (Globe and Mail)
HF5003.R4 from 1986- (microfilm)
Online from 1986- (monthly, via CBCA)
-
Top 1000 (June issue, latest year only)
Canadian companies are listed by revenue. Has a number of tables, including top 300 private companies, top R&D, top employers, top crown corporations. It is produced annually.
Earnings Call Transcripts
Often held after the release of a public company's quarterly earnings, conference calls between top management and investors can be a great source of information. Conference calls are an opportunity for the CEO or CFO to speak informally and candidly about the company's past performance and its future prospects. Informed analysts can ask questions that address their current concerns.
Transcripts of these conference calls are available:
Factiva
-
CQ FD Disclosure: In Factiva, select "Source" and locate the publication CQ FD Disclosure. Then use a keyword search to find conference call transcripts for your company, product, or industry.
Fair Disclosure Wire
-
In ABI/Inform, search by publication title for Fair Disclosure Wire. Within this publication, search by company, product, or industry to locate relevant conference call transcripts.
Seeking Alpha Transcript Center
-
Freely available on the web, the Transcript Center can be searched by company or product to locate relevant conference call transcripts. Transcripts can be grouped by industry and a schedule of upcoming conference calls is also available.