Queen's University - Utility Bar

Queen's University Library

Business: Industries

Use The databases described in Articles to learn more about an industry and the companies in that sector. Search using 'keywords' that describe the product, technology, sector or company names and people. In business research o single article or source will provide all the answers. Bits of information from a variety of sources will however start to add up to a coherent picture.

Note: What are NAICS and SIC codes?

Reports

  You are connecting from off-campus. You will be prompted to enter your NetID and password before connecting to a Queen's-only database.
Publication coverage: Daily updates for current data.
Provides overview 'Industry Reports' by sector. Includes all major industries in Canada.
This database provides industry analysis and market research reports on 18 global industry sectors. Includes product and market size assessments, product and market forecasts, industry trends, threats and opportunities, key industry participants and links to more resources.
Publication coverage: Varies
Click on Industries on the top menu bar. In-depth analysis of major industries, including data, forecasts and trends and comparative analysis.
At the Search screen:
  • go to the Sources section and type: Mergent Industry Reports
  • when it appears in the list, click on the title (it should turn gold) to select it
  • input some keywords in the text input box
  • click on the Run Search button to view the list of reports
TIP: If you'd just like to browse a list of Mergent Industry Reports, you can search for a common word such as 'sector' or a geographical region (e.g., North America, Asia Pacific, Europe etc.) to view the range of industries available.
Publication coverage: 1886 - present

Browse and search Industry Profiles using the menu on the right.

For Datamonitor Reports, search using descriptive keywords and the term 'datamonitor'.

Publication coverage: 1995 - present

Reports, hype cycles, magic quadrants on IT products, services and the sector. Analysis and advice for the users and vendors of technology. Some current reports are not available on our academic subscription.

Publication coverage: 1998 - present

Data and reports on national, provincial and metropolitan economic trends & forecasts, industries, organizational performance and public policy issues. The Conference Board of Canada is business oriented, but non-partisan. Free registration required.

Access restricted to the Queen's community (5 user limit)

Research/Company Research provides in-depth research reports developed by expert analysts at nearly 1600 of the world's top investment banks, brokerage houses, and research firms. Research reports are global in coverage and become available as soon as their release terms allow - from 3 days to a few weeks after release. Historical research reports are available back to 1982.

In Company Research use the 'Advanced Research Page' to search by industry keywords in the text, title or contents of the reports. Or use the Screening & Analysis tab on the left to access Advanced Research.

Also known as: Investext

Publication coverage: 1983-present
Provides industry financials and recommendations (stock market). Includes information on companies listed on U.S. exchanges.

Associations

Web Search for Industry Association sites

Associations Canada
HS17.A78t (latest at SL Reference Desk)

Encyclopedia of Associations
HS17.G15 (latest at SL Reference Desk)

Government and Statistical Agencies

Queen's Government Documents Website

For Statistics Canada, Industry Canada, US, OECD, EU and other data....

Statistics Canada

Products and Services site. Browse the Free Internet publications for discussions on Manufacturing, Primary Industries, ...

Industry Canada

Includes statistics and analysis of industry sectors, trade and the economy. Click By Industrial Sector.

U.S. Business and Industry Census Bureau - Economic Programs

Provides data by sector, includes Annual Survey of Manufacturers and more ...

U.S. Department of Commerce International Trade Administration - Manufacturing and Services

Provides research and analysis. Links to resources on industries such as Aerospace, Energy, Metals, Telecommunications. Find market research, publications, statistics ....

Last Updated: 21 May 2010