Queen's University - Utility Bar

Queen's University Library

Business: Marketing

Background Information: Directories, Handbooks, Encyclopedias

Advertising Age Encyclopedia of Advertising
REF HF5803 .A38 2003t (3 vols)

Agency ComPile

US. Profiles of Ad, PR, Direct marketing, Interactive, Design, Sales promotion and Media buying services.

Agency Search

U.S. American Ass'n. of Advertising Agencies. Annual. Agency profiles.

B to B

U.S. Magazine for marketing strategists. Multiple directories, rankings, guides.

CARD (Canadian Advertising Rates and Data)
HF5808. C2C25 (2 months only retained SL REF; 1983- Dec. only retained SL stacks)

Media Information Network. Information on advertising, sales, marketing and corporate communication. Advertising rates and related data available on every significant medium in Canada and on selected International media.

GreenBook

International Directory of Marketing Research Houses and Services

Market Research Handbook (Statistics Canada)
CA1 BS63 C224 (Docs - Latest on Docs REF)

Media Digest 2012-13 (Canadian Media Directors' Council)

National List of Advertisers
HF5808 .C2N3 (most recent 2 years on REF)

Indexes & Databases

The following indexes & databases selectively provide access to magazine, journal and newspaper ARTICLES, REPORTS, and other publications.

  You are connecting from off-campus. You will be prompted to enter your NetID and password before connecting to a Queen's-only database.

Comprehensive. Narrow search to specific journals if required: e.g. Marketing Magazine for Canadian information and Advertising Age for U.S information. Includes the Wall Street Journal.

For Asian and European marketing information, search Asian Business and European Business individually or 'select multiple databases' on search screen to select and search more than one section simultaneously.

Publication coverage: Varies with publication
Journal and magazine articles indexed as well as a few Canadian newspapers.
Includes reports and weekly reviews about Canadian and global export trends, forecasts and performance.
Publication coverage: Varies by publication.
Access restricted to the Queen's community (5 user limit)
Covers international news and business information, including magazines and company reports.
Publication coverage: 1995 - present
Provides in-depth analysis on technology and telecommunications, including market data, reports and forecasts.
Coverage varies for each publication - many titles go back to the 80's. Search by 'Market & Industry' for marketing news, geo-demographics, and more ...

Market Share

Market share is defined as a brand's share of the total sales of all products within the product category in which the brand competes. Many company directories will provide rankings of companies by sales which will indicate who the most prominent companies are in specific industries.

It can also be found in trade journals by searching "market share" plus your company or product in one of the databases listed below. It can be measured by comparing data at the company level or by examining sales by individual brand. Watch for figures such as the size of the market in dollars, units of sales, value of shipments or industry sales in addition to phrases such as "market share" and "share of the market".

Also follow the links to company Rankings.

  You are connecting from off-campus. You will be prompted to enter your NetID and password before connecting to a Queen's-only database.
Begin by searching for records about the company/industry/product. Examples: Delta and choose Company/Org in drop-down menu. Try adding market shares in the Subject field.
Publication coverage: Varies by publication.
Access restricted to the Queen's community (5 user limit)
See 'Peer Group' at bottom of individual company information sheets for company comparisons within an industry - rank and net profit margin etc.
Search by 'Market & Industry' ? 'Reports & Analysis' ? 'Worldwide Market Share'
Annual Reports
Some Annual Reports provide the market share of a company's products. Look for this information in the promotional section or the management's discussion. Some companies report their own market shares in Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) filings like the 10-Ks. (Finding corporate filings.)

Selected Key Journals

For E-journals available at Queen's:

Library homepage (library.queensu.ca)
   E-Journals
    Business & Economics (By Subject)
     Marketing & Sales and Advertising

NOTE:Print versions of the following journals are located in Stauffer Library bound or current periodicals. Search QCAT for holdings details and to search individual online journals.

Advertising Age
HF5801.A276 (micro) from 1950- . Online from 1986-

Adweek
Online from 1997-

Brandweek
Online from 1991-

Industrial Marketing Management
HF5415.12.E8I53 (1971-2003). Online from 1971-

Journal of Marketing
HF5415.A1J8 (1936-2009). Online from 1936-

Journal of Marketing Research (JMR)
HF5415.2.J66 (1964-2009) . Online from 1964-

Marketing Magazine
HF5415.M295t from 1961- . Online from 1996-

Mediaweek
Online (1994-2011/04/11)

Sales and Marketing Management
Online from 1984-

Demographics and Statistical Data

Data Services

Provides links to (and more...):

Conference Board of Canada

Browse by Topic, Economic Trends: Metropolitan Data

FP Markets, Canadian Demographics
HC111.F4t (latest year in SL REF)

Demographia

American FactFinder

U.S. Census Bureau.

Bureau of Labor Statistics - U.S. Demographics

Market Research Guide

A guide to resources from Rutgers University Libraries.

Associations and Organizations

Advertising Standards Canada

Canadian advertising industry’s self-regulatory body, which administers the Canadian Code of Advertising Standards.

Advertising Association

An international federation of 31 trade bodies and organisations representing the advertising and marketing industries.

American Association of Advertising Agencies

The AAAA is the national trade association representing the advertising agency business in the US.

American Marketing Association

Business Marketing Association

Expertise in business-to-business marketing and communications.

Canadian Marketing Association

Canadian Newspaper Association

Direct Marketing Association

Institute of Communication Agencies

Who's Who of Canadian Advertising

Interactive Advertising Bureau

Links to Standards & Guidelines and Resources & Research; free registration.

Websites & Portals

Ad*Access

"The Ad*Access Project, funded by the Duke Endowment "Library 2000" Fund, presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 - 1955."

Best Practices (American Marketing Association)

ClickZ Stats

For data on Web/Internet statistics, trends, and market research.

Yahoo! Marketing and Advertising

Last Updated: 27 August 2014