Queen's University - Utility Bar

Queen's University Library

Canadian Literature: Biographies

Consult biographical dictionaries to get brief information about people, dates and events. For more sources, see Biographical Resources.

Writers

Dictionary of Canadian Biography Online
Online

Presents persons who died between the years 1000 and 1920 (or whose last known date of activity falls within these years) and who played an important role in the formation of Canada.

Contemporary Canadian Authors
REF PS8081 .C65t 1995

Bio-bibliographical guide to fiction, general non-fiction, poetry, drama.

Who's Who in Canadian Literature
REF PS8081 .W46 (1997-98)

Canadian Writers since 1960
REF PS8081 .C32

Part of the Dictionary of Literary Biography; has 2 volumes.

Canadian Writers, 1920-1959
REF PS8081 .C312

Part of the Dictionary of Literary Biography; has 2 volumes.

Contemporary Authors: A Bio-Bibliographical Guide to Current Authors and Their Works
REF Z1224 .C76

Covers authors of fiction, general non-fiction, poetry, journalism, drama, film, television, and other fields. Title and call number varies for the period 1962-1981.

Related title: Contemporary Authors. New Revision Series
REF Z1224 .C592.

Dictionnaire des ecrivains Quebecois contemporains
REF PS9081 .L44 1983

Library and Archives Canada: Canadian Writers

Manuscript collections and biographical information on Canadian writers Marie-Claire Blais, Roger Lemelin, Carol Shields, Michel Tremblay, Jane Urquhart, and Elizabeth Smart.

Fiction Authors

ECW's Biographical Guide to Canadian Novelists
REF PS8081 .E28 1993

Canadian Writers and Their Works: fiction series
REF PS8187. C36

In 10 volumes.

Poets

ECW's Biographical Guide to Canadian Poets
REF PS8081 .E33 1993

Canadian Writers and their Works: poetry series
REF PS8141. C36

10 volume series.

Who's Who in the League of Canadian Poets
REF PS8081 .L43 1999

Canadian Poetry (University of Toronto)

Biographical information on 19th-century and contemporary Canadian poets.

101 poetes en Quebec
REF PS9295 .5 .Q4 .C46 1995

Dramatists

Directory of Canadian Plays and Playwrights
REF PS8177 .D57 (1981; 1982)

Most recent (2003) edition is held at the W.D. Jordan Special Collections, Douglas Library Building (Call # PS8081 .P528 2003)

Canadian Theatre Encyclopedia (Athabasca University)

A database of current and historical information on Canadian actors, playwrights, directors, producers, and designers.

Last Updated: 17 July 2009