Queen's University - Utility Bar

Queen's University Library

Canadian Literature: Primary Texts

General information about primary sources

Early Canadiana Online

Full text collection of 3000 books and pamphlets documenting Canadian history and literature.

Canadian Poetry (University of Toronto)

Features poetry written by contemporary and 19th-century poets. Also includes author biographies and links to Canadian poetry journals, magazines, and presses.

Canadian Poetry: An Electronic Resource (University of Western Ontario)

Scholarly editions of early Canadian long poems, including full-text editions of the work of the Confederation poets. Also includes critical studies of Canadian poetry.

Canadian Poetry Archive (Library and Archives Canada)

A searchable database of poems from over 100 early English- and French-language Canadian poets, digitized from the collections of the Library and Archives Canada. Also contains some biographical information.

Bibliothèque virtuelle (Faculty Saint-Jean, University of Alberta)

Contains classic out-of-copyright texts of French-Canadian literature in rtf (rich-text) format. Browsable by author.

Le Centre de documentation virtuel sur la littérature québécoise.

Digitized 19th-century French-Canadian texts in pdf format from the Bibliothèque nationale du Québec.

Library and Archives Canada: Canadian Writers

Manuscript collections and biographical information on Canadian writers Marie-Claire Blais, Roger Lemelin, Carol Shields, Michel Tremblay, Jane Urquhart, and Elizabeth Smart. These e-collections include typescripts, correspondence, journals, notebooks, and miscellany.

North American Indian Thought and Culture

Includes biographies, autobiographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, oral histories, reference works, manuscripts, and photographs and images of indigenous peoples from all areas of North America..

Last Updated: 08 September 2014