Canadian Literature: Theses
Queen's
To find theses and dissertations produced at Queen's, search the following:
-
The Library Catalogue (QCAT)
QCAT is the primary tool for finding theses written by Queen's students.- Search by author, title, subject or keyword.
- Search by department using a keyword search to retrieve all theses associated with that department: Queens and history and thesis.
- Note the call number (either in print, microfiche or online) and location:
- In print theses are denoted by the call number Thesis MA or Thesis PhD and are located in the University Archives (print copies do not circulate).
- Additional copies of each thesis may be available on microfiche (call number Microfiche 390) and housed in the Microforms section of Stauffer Library (lower level).
- Theses may be available online via QSpace.
-
QSpace: Theses & Dissertations
- Queen's theses published since July 2007 are available online via the Queen's institutional repository (QSpace) and are linked in QCAT.
- Search full text by keyword in addition to search by author, title, subject and abstract.
-
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses @ Queen's
- Full text online since 1997, with some retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.
- Citations and some abstracts since 1965
Canada
Theses Canada
1965 - (microform)
1998 - Electronic theses and dissertations are harvested monthly from Canadian universities. However, for those that have been digitized by ProQuest Disserations & Theses, there is a four-year contractual time lag to access fulltext. Available to anyone on the web.
NOTE: Library and Archives Canada (LAC) ceased its interlibrary loan (ILL) service as of December 2012. Queen’s is no longer able to borrow material held at LAC which includes newspapers and archival material on microfilm and Canadian university theses.ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world from 1861-present.
Full text since 1997, with strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.
Abstracts since 1980 for doctoral dissertations and since 1988 for masters' theses.
Citations since 1861.
Repositories
- Search for full text of open access dissertations and theses by searching the following sites:
- OpenDOAR - the Directory of Open Access Repositories
- PQDT Open
- OpenThesis
- PhdData
An open database of doctoral dissertations in progress around the world.
United States
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world from 1861-present.
Full text since 1997, with strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.
Abstracts since 1980 for doctoral dissertations and since 1988 for masters' theses.
Citations since 1861.
International
-
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world from 1861-present.
Full text since 1997, with strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.
Abstracts since 1980 for doctoral dissertations and 1988 for masters' theses.
Citations since 1861. Center for Research Libraries
CRL holds more than 800,000 doctoral dissertations outside of the U.S. and Canada.
Search dissertations in the dissertations section of the CRL catalogue.
Digitized dissertations can be searched in the catalogue's e-resources section.-
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
A collection of more than 800,000 international full text theses and dissertations. -
Google Scholar
Try searching Google Scholar for theses posted on institutional digital repositories or on personal web pages. -
Scirus
A web search engine devoted to Science and Technology. WorldCat
Search for dissertations, theses and published material based on theses catalogued in WorldCat by OCLC member libraries worldwide.
In Advanced Search, you can search by author, title, subject, year, and keyword.
Under Subtype Limits, select Theses/Dissertation from the Any Content menu.Austria
Österreichische Dissertationsdatenbank
The Austrian dissertation database contains the bibliographical data of dissertations approved in Austria from 1990 on, and in most cases the relevant abstracts. (This website is hosted by the National Library of Austria).
Australia
Australasian Digital Theses Program
Search for full text digital theses from Australian and New Zealand universities.
Britain
EThOS
Access to doctoral dissertations (paper and electronic) from UK institutions of higher education.
-
Europe
DART-Europe
Access to full text theses and dissertations from many countries in Europe.Europeana
Additional electronic dissertations from other European libraries.
France
Système universitaire de documentation
Provides access to records and some electronic theses and dissertations published at French research institutions.
Fichier central des thèses
Germany
DissOnline
DissOnline provides information on the subject of electronic university publications. It can be used to find out directly all about online dissertations and post-doctoral theses. Sample documents can be downloaded to provide help in the creation of electronic university publications. For more information about the portal, please go to German National Library website (DNB).
-
México
TESIUNAM: Tesis del Sistema Bibliotecario de la Unam
(Theses from the National University of Mexico / Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México). To search for electronic theses, click on “tesis electrónicas (REDUNAM).”
-
Middle East
EThOS
The Center for Research Libraries and the British Library have made available online 400 UK doctoral theses focusing on the Middle East, Islamic studies, and related subjects. More information.
-
The Netherlands
NARCIS
Some Dutch e-theses are available through NARCIS.
Spain
- There are several portals/catalogues in Spain for theses and dissertations. Here are some examples listed on Spain’s National Library website:
Spain’s Ministry of Education thesis database (TESEO)
Biblioteca Virtual del Español (on the Biblioteca Virtual, Miguel de Cervantes website)
Universidad Complutense de Madrid’s catalogue
TDX (Tesis Doctorals en Xarxa)
This is a cooperative repository of digital theses from the University of Cataluña and other autonomous communities (such as Murcia, Cantabria, Barcelona, and Oviedo)
Switzerland
- For print and electronic dissertations, please consult the Swiss National Library website.
-
Taiwan
NDLTD
National Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations in Taiwan is an open full-text permanent archive of scholarly research in Taiwan.
Other Latin American Countries
- Some electronic theses from Bolivia, Brasil, Chile and Peru can be found at Cybertesis.NET, a portal created by the University of Chile (Information Services & Library System) that provides an easily accessible tool to full text electronic theses published in different universities of the world.
For more university/national library catalogues, search for the word University/Universidad and the country (Argentina, Peru, etc.) in Google. Find the link to the library (biblioteca) and search the catalogue for theses (tesis). You may need to click on the advanced search function (búsqueda guíada or búsqueda avanzada) and select tesis as a format or type.
- Some electronic theses from Bolivia, Brasil, Chile and Peru can be found at Cybertesis.NET, a portal created by the University of Chile (Information Services & Library System) that provides an easily accessible tool to full text electronic theses published in different universities of the world.
TIP: The Library sometimes can have a copy of a dissertation from another university--either purchased by the Library, or purchased by an individual student or faculty member and later donated to the library collection so always check QCAT.
Last Updated: 08 April 2009