Queen's University - Utility Bar

Queen's University Library

Canadian Studies: Article Indexes

Journal articles are not listed in QCAT. Use an index to find magazine and journal articles. Articles are important in your research as they contain the most-up-to-date research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic. There are different types of articles: scholarly, popular or trade.

Tip: Remember to search journal title and not article title in QCAT

Key Indexes

  You are connecting from off-campus. You will be prompted to enter your NetID and password before connecting to a Queen's-only database.
Publication coverage: 1982 - present
Indexes articles published in and about Canada taken from scholarly, popular, and trade publications.
Publication coverage: Indexed articles: 1977 - present ; Full-text articles: 1983 - present
Print holdings: 1920 - 1998: Check QCAT
Indexes Canadian and international periodicals. Bilingual interface.
Publication coverage: 1954 - present
Access restricted to the Queen's community (6 user limit)
Indexes all aspects of Canadian history, culture, government, politics, current affairs, and more, from pre-historic times to the present.
Publication coverage: 1980 - present
Index to articles from many of the most widely read French-language periodicals distributed in Quebec.

Other Useful Indexes

  You are connecting from off-campus. You will be prompted to enter your NetID and password before connecting to a Queen's-only database.
Publication coverage: 1850s-
A database of architectural information and citations to periodical articles and books about buildings in Toronto.
Bibliography of Native North Americans is an index to books, journal articles, essays and government publications (both US and Canadian) covering all aspects of native North American culture, history and life.
Publication coverage: 1945 - present
Contains material on Canada's foreign relations, defence, economic relations, foreign aid, ....
Publication coverage: 1980 - present
Canadian human rights law, decisions, links to related sites.
Index of articles from Canadian music periodicals.
Publication coverage: 1867 - 1978
Index to articles published in a number of Canadian periodicals of historical significance, including Maclean's Magazine, The Financial Post, The Monetary Times of Canada, Massey's Magazine, The Canadian Bookman, The Canadian Magazine, Saturday Night and The University Magazine. Provides a window into the social and cultural life of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.
Supersedes the Canadian Social Investment Database. Provides environmental, social, and governance performance research and analysis, sustainability benchmarks, and responsible investment services. Currently accesses Canadian companies only.

Consult our Multidisciplinary Databases guide for a broad list of multidisciplinary indexes and databases.

Last Updated: 03 October 2011