Queen's University - Utility Bar

Queen's University Library

Queen's owns the Edith and Lorne Pierce Collection of Canadiana, which contains books on Canadian history and literature, along with books of Canadian fiction, poetry, and drama written. The collection is searchable through QCAT; it is located in the W.D. Jordan Special Collections Library (2nd floor, Douglas Library).

To find books on a topic about Canada, search QCAT Library Catalogue by author, title, subject heading, or keyword.

To find books by a particular author/person, search QCAT by author:
trudeau pierre elliott
To find books about a particular author/person, search QCAT by subject heading:
trudeau pierre elliott
To find books on a topic, use a keyword search if you do not know the correct subject heading for a topic. Think of the focus (or key) words that describe your topic.
trudeau and sovereignty
"sustainable development" and rural and canada
Select useful titles and look at the full record for subject headings.
Nationalism--Canada
Canada--English-French relations
Canada--Politics and government--1945-
Sustainable development--Canada
Quality of life--Canada
Canada--Rural conditions
Click on the subject heading to do a new search or use words from the subject heading to modify your keyword search.

Examples of subject headings relating to Canadian Studies:
Federal government--Canada
Canada--Foreign relations--1945--
Canada--History--20th century
Sociology, Urban--Canada
Youth--Canada
Canadian literature--Black authors
Social capital (Sociology)--Canada
Universities and colleges--Environmental aspects--Canada
Violence--Canada
Homeless youth--Canada
To find bibliographies on a topic, look for the subdivision bibliography following a subject heading.
Reference books--Canada--Bibliography
Minorities--Canada--Bibliography
To find primary sources in the library, look for the subdivision sources following a subject heading.
Diplomats--Canada--Diaries

Last Updated: 08 May 2012