Queen's University - Utility Bar

Queen's University Library

Chemical Industry - Prices and Statistics: Plant, Equipment & Labour Costs

Plant, Equipment and Labour Costs

Several trade journals publish current plant and equipment costs. For example, Chemical Engineering, which is available in Academic Source Complete, publishes the Chemical Engineering Plant Cost Index (CEPCI) and Marshall & Swift Equipment Cost Index. Follow the steps below to locate the most recent cost data in each journal. Other resources are listed below.

  You are connecting from off-campus. You will be prompted to enter your NetID and password before connecting to a Queen's-only database.
Chemical Engineering Plant Cost Index (CEPCI)
Chemical Engineering magazine publishes the Chemical Engineering Plant Cost Index (CEPCI), Marshall & Swift Equipment Cost Index and Current Business Indicators for the chemical industry. To find the most recent data, follow these steps:

  1. Go to Academic Search Complete.
  2. Search "chemical engineering" in "SO Journal Name" AND "economic indicators" in "TX All Text."
Oil & Gas Journal
Includes monthly and quarterly "Nelson-Farrar" cost indexes for refinery construction and operation, chemicals, labor and equipment. To find the most recent indexes, follow these steps:

  1. Go to ABI/Inform.
  2. Search "oil & gas journal" in "Publication title" and "indexes" in "Citation and abstract."
Pipeline & Gas Journal
Publishes "Pipeline Construction Scorecard" that reports international pipeline construction activity. Data includes length, cost, location and estimated completion date. To find the most recent scorecards, follow these steps:

  1. Go to Business Source Complete.
  2. Search "pipeline & gas journal " in "SO Publication Name" AND "scorecard" in "TX All Text."
Canadian Plastics Buyer's Guide
Ref. TP986 A1 C3t 2009
Directory of products and services for the plastics industry published annually.
Includes cost estimation methods for chemical plants, equipment and supplies.
Includes capital cost data and difficult-to-find installation factors for hundreds of pieces of equipment. See Appendix D for capital cost guidelines.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
Indexes labour productivity and costs in all sectors of the chemical industry. Organized by NAICS code.
Includes current data on employment, wages and regional profiles.
Includes estimates for employment, plant hours, payrolls, capital expenditures, cost of materials, shipments, energy consumption and inventories. Industries organized by NAICS code.

Last Updated: 03 February 2009