Queen's University - Utility Bar

Queen's University Library

Classical Studies: Article Indexes

Journal articles are not listed in QCAT. Use an index to find magazine and journal articles. Articles are important in your research as they contain the most-up-to-date research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic. There are different types of articles: scholarly, popular or trade.

Tip: Remember to search journal title and not article title in QCAT

Key Indexes

  You are connecting from off-campus. You will be prompted to enter your NetID and password before connecting to a Queen's-only database.
Publication coverage: 1924 - present (excluding most recent 2-3 years)
Print holdings: REF PA2 .A613 (v.1-72; 1924-2001)
Database of Classical Bibliography. Includes journal citations, book reviews, and books.
Publication coverage: 1990-  (updated weekly)
Indexes books, book articles, and some journals. A more up-to-date bibliography of publications not yet indexed in L'Année philologique.
Publication coverage: 1956-2006
Subjects: classical archaeology, etruscology, minoan archaeology and prehistory. You require a key to access.
Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists.

Other Useful Indexes

  You are connecting from off-campus. You will be prompted to enter your NetID and password before connecting to a Queen's-only database.
Publication coverage: 1975 - present
Indexes both scholarly articles, including journals from the United Kingdom, United States, Australia, and Canada.
A group of citation, abstract and some full-text databases, covering literature published in many different disciplines. Each database can be searched separately (click 'Specific Databases') but they also can be searched as a group, such as Arts and Humanities, from this starting point.
British Humanities Index
REF AI3.B86 from 1962-
General index that indexes over 300 journals published in Great Britain.
Publication coverage: 1940-
Indexes articles published in more than 480 journals, as well as for books and anthologies.

Online Reviewing Tools

  You are connecting from off-campus. You will be prompted to enter your NetID and password before connecting to a Queen's-only database.
Publishes reviews of current scholarly work in classical studies (including archaeology). This site is the authoritative archive of BMCR's publications, from 1990 to the present.
Grew out of the listserv IOUDAIOS-L, a scholarly list focusing on Judaism in the Greco-Roman age. Both tools serve professional scholars of early Judaism and related fields. Some knowledge of classical Hebrew and hellenistic Greek is assumed.

Last Updated: 17 July 2009