Queen's University - Utility Bar

Queen's University Library

Cultural Studies: Article Indexes & Databases

There is considerable breadth in the types of research topics pursued in cultural studies; therefore, it may be necessary to consult other subject research guides to identify additional databases that meet your research needs.

  You are connecting from off-campus. You will be prompted to enter your NetID and password before connecting to a Queen's-only database.
Publication coverage: 1991 - present (updated quarterly)
Print holdings: 1969 - present Access restricted to the Queen's community (2 user limit)
Interdisciplinary index to alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines.
Publication coverage: 1954 - present
Access restricted to the Queen's community (6 user limit)
History of the United States and Canada from pre-historic times to the present.
Publication coverage: Late 19th century - present
Access restricted to the Queen's community (15 user limit)
Comprehensive index to literature published worldwide in all areas of anthropology and related interdisciplinary studies.
Publication coverage: 1974 - present
Indexes writing and research on all forms of modern and contemporary art.
Publication coverage: 1984 - present
For 1907-1984 coverage see: Art Index Retrospective

Print holdings: Library also has older volumes in print: check QCAT for details.
Index to scholarly journal articles on art and related disciplines (anthropology, architecture, design, video art, etc.). Emphasis is on Western art.
Publication coverage: 1929 - 1984
Access restricted to the Queen's community (1 user limit)
Index to scholarly art journals and other materials published prior to 1985.
Publication coverage: 1949-
Index to scholarly publications on theology and religious studies.
BNNA is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life.
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,730 journals in the field of education, and includes the full text for more than 800 journals, 67 books, and numerous education-related conference papers. An expansion of the Professional Development Collection database.
Publication coverage: 1959 - present
Interdisciplinary, with a focus on publications from ethnic, minority and native presses.
Publication coverage: From mid 20th century (with selective earlier coverage) -
Print holdings: REF Z5784.M9F45 1973- (Film Literature Index)
Comprehensive bibliographic database to film and television literature.
Publication coverage: 1900-
Publication coverage: 1984 - present (updated monthly)
A multilingual, multidisciplinary index covering the humanities and social sciences, emphasizing such areas as archaeology, geography, linguistics, philosophy, religion, sociology and more....
Publication coverage: 1972 - present
Indexes scholarly and popular journals covering gender-engaged scholarship.
Publication coverage: 1980 - present
A comprehensive, international and interdisciplinary database for the fields of physical and human geography, including geology, ecology, geomechanics, mineralogy, oceanography, environmental issues and Third World studies....
Publication coverage: 1954 - present
Access restricted to the Queen's community (6 user limit)
Comprehensive index to scholarly literature on world history from 1450 to present (excluding the U.S. and Canada).
Publication coverage: 1951-   (updated quarterly)
Social science and interdisciplinary research with international coverage.

Includes over 500 core journals, with an emphasis on specialist and rare titles, plus monographs, essay collections, conference proceedings and exhibition catalogues. At least 60% of the content is in languages other than English.

Publication coverage: Varies depending on publication.
A complete guide to the diverse literature of the left, with emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.
Publication coverage: 1953-
Comprehensive index (with abstracts and links to full-text) to articles, books and reference works relating to gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues.
Publication coverage: 1892 - present (some primary texts date from 600 AD)
Access restricted to the Queen's community (4 user limit)
Includes MLA International Bibliography. Collection of English and American poetry, drama and prose, as well as literature journals and key criticism and reference resources.
Publication coverage: 1940-
Major international index to scholarly research in all fields of philosophy.
Publication coverage: 1952 - present
Comprehensive index to the international literature in sociology and related disciplines.
Publication coverage: 1800 - present
Access restricted to the Queen's community (4 user limit)
Abstracts and indexes international journals in the fields of sport, fitness, exercise and related disciplines, as well as books, dissertations, conference proceedings, and reviews.

Last Updated: 22 September 2009