Queen's University - Utility Bar

Queen's University Library

Cultural Studies: Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Consult specialized encyclopedias or dictionaries to get a broad overview of a subject, a concise overview of a concept, school of thought or person. To find encyclopedias or dictionaries on your topic, search QCAT using the keywords of your topic combined with "encyclopedia" or "dictionaries". You may also wish to consult the appropriate subject guide.

Listed below are a few select titles. Many more can be found by either searching the library catalogue or consulting the relevant subject guide.

 

Dictionaries

The Blackwell Dictionary of Modern Social Thought (online and print)
SL REF H41 .B53 2003

The Columbia Dictionary of Modern Literary and Cultural Criticism (online)

A Dictionary of Critical Theory Ian Buchanan, Oxford University Press (2010)
(online)

Dictionary of Cultural and Critical theory (online)

New Dictionary of Cultural Literacy, 3rd ed (online and in print)
SL REF AG5 .H757 2002

20th Century Culture: a Dictionary of the Arts and Literature of Our Time (print)
SL REF NX456 .B76 1991t

Encyclopedias

ONLINE

  You are connecting from off-campus. You will be prompted to enter your NetID and password before connecting to a Queen's-only database.
Comprehensive survey of sociological theories, research, definitions and bibliographies.
This free, online encyclopedia includes substantial essays on a wide variety of topics ranging from Erotica & Pornography to Ageism to Women's Liberation Movement. Each entry is signed. Also includes biographical and literary entries in the Arts and Literature sections, respectively.
Comprehensive overview of the social and behavioural sciences.
Access restricted to the Queen's community (5 user limit)
Searchable database of dictionaries and other subject-specific reference works.

STAUFFER REFERENCE

Encyclopedia of Activism & Social Justice
HM671 .E53 2007

Encyclopedia of Gender and Society
HQ1115 .E54 2009

Encyclopedia of the Jewish Diaspora : Origins, Experiences, and Culture / M. Avrum Ehrlich, editor
DS115 .E47 2009

Material Culture in America : Understanding Everyday Life / Helen Sheumaker and Shirley Teresa Wajda, editors
GN560.U6 M37 2008

Routledge International Encyclopedia of Queer Culture / edited by David A. Gerstner
HQ76.96 .R68 2006

Encyclopedia of New Media : an Essential Reference to Communication and Technology / Steve Jones, editor
QA76.575 .E5368 2003

Last Updated: 13 July 2012