The Library subscribes to many specialized collections of digital primary source materials and electronic texts.
The following are particularly relevant to Cultural Studies:
Primary Source Materials:
Publication coverage: Colonial times - present
- Contains the full text of almost 800 sources, including the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans as well as interviews, journal articles, letters and other fugitive material.
- Historical documents to support study and analysis of gender, leisure and consumer culture.
- A collection of works, in both original language and English translation, written by seminal figures in the humanities and social sciences.
Subjects covered include the history of political thought and theory, education, religious studies, economics, classics, history and philosophy of science, germanic studies and sociology.
Publication coverage: 18th century - present
- A collection of influential writings representing the most important trends of sociological thought from the 18th century to the present day. Relevant to the fields of sociology, economics, political science, race and gender studies, intellectual history, media studies, psychology and philosophy.
Publication coverage: 1960's-
- The first ever scholarly, primary source database focusing on adult comic books and graphic novels. Beginning with the first underground comix from the 1960’s to the works of modern sequential artists, this collection will contain more than 75,000 pages of comics and graphic novels, along with 25,000 pages of interviews, criticism, and journal articles that document the continual growth and evolution of this artform.
Publication coverage: 1600-2000
- Covers a wide range of primary and secondary documents, a dictionary of social movements and organizations,
a chronology of U.S. women's history, as well as images and links to other websites.
- Full-text access to a large collection of scholarly e-books published by leading Canadian publishers.
- The e-Duke Books Scholarly Collection includes online access to at least 100 new scholarly books published by Duke University Press in the humanities and social sciences in a calendar year. With the purchase of the current year's titles in the e-Duke Books Scholarly Collection, libraries will also receive access to all of the Press's backlist books now available in electronic form.
- Search and browse access to the full-text of books from scholarly Canadian and international publishers.
- Cover-to-cover search and browse access to the full-text of books from various academic publishers. Note: 80-page printing restriction. Some titles may have access limits.
- Provides a single search and reading interface to published material from major scholarly publishers.
Publication coverage: 2012-2013
- University Press Scholarship Online launched in September 2011, brings together monograph content from leading university presses.