Queen's University - Utility Bar

Queen's University Library

English Language and Literature: Browse by Chronological Period

Browse by Chronological Period

All

  You are connecting from off-campus. You will be prompted to enter your NetID and password before connecting to a Queen's-only database.
Index to books, journal articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews and collections of essays published world-wide.
Publication coverage: 1975 - present

A&HCI is part of Web of Science. To search this database select A&HCI under Citation Databases at the bottom of the screen. For more information see additional details under Web of Science.

Full-text collection of more than 3,900 English plays, in verse and prose, from the medieval mystery cycles to the comedies of Oscar Wilde.
Publication coverage: Classical antiquity - present
Comprehensive survey of literary ideas and scholars from Plato to modern times.
Subscription purchased by MacIsaac Memorial Fund in memory of Vera May MacIsaac, BA 1925
Publication coverage: Varies with publication.

Journal Storage, the Scholarly Journal Archive is an electronic journal archive which provides online access to the entire "backrun" of many core academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, business, and law. From Vol. 1 to within 2-5 years of current volume.

In addition to being an archive, JSTOR offers current access to some titles from various publishers.

Publication coverage: 1892 - present (some primary texts date from 600 AD)
Access restricted to the Queen's community (4 user limit)
Provides access to English language literature in full text, reference works, bibliographies, web pages and full-text journals.
Publication coverage: 1925 - present
Comprehensive index to scholarly writing on literature, language, linguistics, literary criticism, folklore, drama, literary genres, etc.
Publication coverage: Varies by title
A collection of peer-reviewed electronic journals in the arts, humanities, fine arts, social sciences and mathematics.

Anglo-Saxon and Medieval

  You are connecting from off-campus. You will be prompted to enter your NetID and password before connecting to a Queen's-only database.
Publication coverage: 1473 - 1700
Collection of English language books published prior to 1700.
Publication coverage: 1473 - 1800
Catalogue of early printed books.
Publication coverage: 1967-
IMB covers all subjects relating to the period of 300-1500 in Europe, North Africa, Armenia and the Muslim World.
Publication coverage: 1843 - present
Interdisciplinary index to articles, essays, books and reviews covering the Middle Ages and the Renaissance (i.e. 400 to 1700 AD).
Publication coverage: Classical antiquity - present
Comprehensive survey of literary ideas and scholars from Plato to modern times.
Full-text of the 'He' version of the King James Bible (1611), including all introductory matter, annotations, calendars, genealogies and tables.
Publication coverage: 1100 to 1500
Electronic version of the Middle English Dictionary, with links to electronic texts and extensive bibliographies where available.

Early Modern

  You are connecting from off-campus. You will be prompted to enter your NetID and password before connecting to a Queen's-only database.
Publication coverage: 1473 - 1700
Collection of English language books published prior to 1700.
Full text of more than 200 prose fiction works by English writers from the period 1500-1700.
Publication coverage: 1473 - 1800
Catalogue of early printed books.
Publication coverage: 1843 - present
Interdisciplinary index to articles, essays, books and reviews covering the Middle Ages and the Renaissance (i.e. 400 to 1700 AD).
Publication coverage: From the advent of printing to about 1700
A scholarly resource for original research into the entire lexical content of Early Modern English.
Bibliography of all manuscripts and editions of John Milton's works and all studies and critical statements concerning his life and works.
Publication coverage: 1962 - present
Annotated bibliography of scholarly and popular writing on Shakespeare.

Eighteenth Century

  You are connecting from off-campus. You will be prompted to enter your NetID and password before connecting to a Queen's-only database.
Documenting 200 years of cultural, political, social and historical events, this 17th and 18th Collection includes newspapers, newsbooks, proclamations and pamphlets in searchable digital format.
Full text of more than 1,500 works by American dramatists from the early 18th century up to the beginning of the 20th century.
Full text of over 40,000 poems by American poets from the Colonial Period to the early 20th century.
Full text of more than 700 first editions of American novels and short stories written by major, as well as by a host of minor, writers of the period.
Publication coverage: 1701-1800
Collection of digital reproductions of nearly 150,000 titles and editions published in the UK and the Americas during the 18th century. Includes Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Part II: New Editions.
Full text of 96 complete works by fiction writers from the British Isles, from the period 1700-1780. Key figures covered include Daniel Defoe, Henry Fielding, Eliza Haywood, Samuel Richardson, Tobias Smollett, Laurence Sterne and Jonathan Swift.
Full-text access to rare journals printed between 1685 and 1813.
Publication coverage: 1715 - present (with supplementary material back to 1688)
Full-text access to British parliamentary papers.

Nineteenth Century

  You are connecting from off-campus. You will be prompted to enter your NetID and password before connecting to a Queen's-only database.
Full text of more than 1,500 works by American dramatists from the early 18th century up to the beginning of the 20th century.
Full text of more than 700 first editions of American novels and short stories written by major, as well as by a host of minor, writers of the period.
Publication coverage: 1830 - 1898
Digitized facsimile of an early American women's magazine which was intended to entertain, inform, and educate the women of America.
Publication coverage: 1851-2009; Index 1851-1993
Digital reproduction of the complete newspaper. Historical New York Times (1851-2009) with Index (1851-1993) "provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times."
Full text of 250 British and Irish novels from the period 1782 to 1903.
Publication coverage: 1800-1900
A collection of British magazines, journals and specialty newspapers which provides an in-depth view of British life in the Victorian age. Series I - New Readerships: Women's, Children's, Humor and Leisure/Sport charts the rapid rise of publishing in a reading culture expanding through a rise in literacy and leisure and an explosion of sports and hobbies. Series II - Empire: Travel and Anthropology, Economics, Missionary and Colonial, covers the expansion of the Empire, addressing the economic as well as the non-mercantile aspects of British expansionism.
The MacIsaac Memorial Fund and the K. Phyllis Wilson Library Endowment Fund
Full-text primary resources (monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more) of Photography: The World Through the Lens; Science, Technology and Medicine, 1780-1925; Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest; and Women: Transnational Networks.
Publication coverage: Pre-1925

Index to English-language journals published from the late 1700s to the early 1900s.

A collection of works, in both original language and English translation, written by seminal figures in the humanities and social sciences. Subjects covered include the history of political thought and theory, education, religious studies, economics, classics, history and philosophy of science, germanic studies and sociology.
Publication coverage: varies; see individual titles
PEP Web provides access to the PEP Web archive, which contains both books and journal articles. The book archive includes the full text of the Standard Edition of the Complete Psychological Works of Sigmund Freud, Freud's letters to his major collaborators and the full text of the major works by Wilfred Bion, Melanie Klein and Donald Winnicott along with other major psychoanalytic authors. The journals in the archive presently include the full text many premier English-language journals in psychoanalysis.
Full-text of The Times (of London).
Indexes citations to 45 periodicals of the Victorian period (1824-1900). It indexes thousands of journal articles on a wide range of subjects, including literature, religion, politics, social science, women’s studies, science, and the arts.

Twentieth Century

  You are connecting from off-campus. You will be prompted to enter your NetID and password before connecting to a Queen's-only database.
Publication coverage: 1851-2009; Index 1851-1993
Digital reproduction of the complete newspaper. Historical New York Times (1851-2009) with Index (1851-1993) "provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times."
Publication coverage: varies; see individual titles
PEP Web provides access to the PEP Web archive, which contains both books and journal articles. The book archive includes the full text of the Standard Edition of the Complete Psychological Works of Sigmund Freud, Freud's letters to his major collaborators and the full text of the major works by Wilfred Bion, Melanie Klein and Donald Winnicott along with other major psychoanalytic authors. The journals in the archive presently include the full text many premier English-language journals in psychoanalysis.
A collection of poetry written by the most important and influential African American poets of the twentieth century.
A collection of 50,000 poems by over 300 American poets writing between 1900 and 1999, providing readers with a unique survey of the movements, schools and distinctive voices of modern and contemporary American poetry.
Full text of the poetry of over 280 poets from 1900 to the present day. Covers primarily authors originating from or based in the British Isles but also includes poetry in English by selected major Commonwealth authors and translations of non-English-language poetry for major figures from countries within the scope of the collection.
The first ever scholarly, primary source database focusing on adult comic books and graphic novels. Beginning with the first underground comix from the 1960’s to the works of modern sequential artists, this collection will contain more than 75,000 pages of comics and graphic novels, along with 25,000 pages of interviews, criticism, and journal articles that document the continual growth and evolution of this artform.

Last Updated: 22 August 2013