Queen's University - Utility Bar

Queen's University Library

To find scholarly articles, the first route is via indexes: see Article Indexes & Databases.

Bibliographies are useful for finding the most important publications on a given topic. Annotated bibliographies provide brief descriptions of the items they list. They range from the general to the specific. The most general are library catalogs (QCAT) and union catalogs (e.g. Amicus, the National Union Catalog, the British Library General Catalogue of Printed Books to 1975 to name a few).

More specialized bibliographies may be more useful for seeking works on a given topic. For more bibliographies, see those listed under Genre Guides and History of Criticism.

To find bibliographies suited to your needs, search QCAT by keyword by entering "bibliography" or "reference guide" and another keyword.

Specialized Bibliographies

Watson, George & I.R. Wilson, eds. The New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature.
REF Z2011 .N45

In addition to listing works by and about British authors, the five-volume NCBEL, which was published between 1969 and 1977, lists more general works such as bibliographies, literary histories, and surveys, special studies, memoirs, and works on related topics such as book production and publishing, theatre, history, philosophy, and religion.

Watson, George, ed. The Shorter New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature.
REF Z2011 .S417 .1981

Condenses the NCBEL by focussing on major authors, and listing critical works more selectively.

Cox, Michael, ed. The Oxford Chronology of English Literature.
REF Z2011 .O98 2002

Based on The Annals of English Literature (1935), this work arranges select lists of 30,000 significant works of literature by year of publication, from 1474 to 2000.

The Eighteenth Century: a Current Bibliography, 1975- .
REF Z2012 .E34t

Issued annually, these bibliographies of criticism and scholarship continue an earlier series begun in 1926. Sections in the most recent numbers include Printing and Bibliographic Studies; Historical, Social, and Economic Studies; Philosophy, Science, and Religion; Fine Arts; Foreign Literatures and Languages; British Literatures; New World Literatures and Languages.

Oxford Bibliographies Online

Lists books, journals, primary documents, web resources, and multimedia in various discipline-based subject modules including Victorian Literature.

World Shakespeare Bibliography Online

The World Shakespeare Bibliography Online is an extensive database of Shakespeare scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced since 1960 to the present. Search Guide

(see also "Primary Sources")

Research Guides and Bibliographies of Bibliographies

Harner, James L. Literary Research Guide: An Annotated Listing of Reference Sources in English Literary Studies. 4th ed.
REF Z2011 .H34 1998.

Lists and describes general and specialized bibliographies as well as research handbooks, literary handbooks, guides to manuscripts and archives, indexes, databases, periodicals, and works on literary genres and national literatures in English.

Marcuse, Michael J. A Reference Guide for English Studies.
REF PR56 .M37 1990

Covers major library catalogs; national bibliographies; serial publications; archives and manuscripts; American and English literature by time period; and the profession of English.

Howard-Hill, T. H. Bibliography of British Literary Bibliographies. 2nd ed.
REF Z2011 .A1 H68 1987t

A good source for finding specialized bibliographies of scholarship about authors, literary subjects, forms and genres, literary periods, regional literatures, and various aspects of book production and publishing.

Last Updated: 25 July 2011