Queen's University - Utility Bar

Queen's University Library

A book review is an evaluative essay concerning the strengths and weaknesses of a published book. Book reviews can be useful for assessing a book's critical importance and its relation to other books in its field.

For contemporary reviews of works published in earlier centuries, see also History of Criticism .

  You are connecting from off-campus. You will be prompted to enter your NetID and password before connecting to a Queen's-only database.
Publication coverage: 1965 - present
Indexes English language book reviews. Search by title, author, journal, review type, length of review, reading level of book, or publication format.
Canadian Book Review Annual Canadian resource
REF Z1035 .A1C3t from 1975-
Publication coverage: 1982 - present
An interdisciplinary index that includes book reviews cited in major newspapers and 350 Canadian journals. Search by keyword combing the following three words: the author's last name; a word from the title; and the word review?
e.g. review? and atwood and robber
This search string requests reviews of Margaret Atwood's novel The Robber Bride.
Publication coverage: Indexed articles: 1977 - present ; Full-text articles: 1983 - present
Print holdings: 1920 - 1998: Check QCAT
An interdisciplinary index to Canadian periodicals with special headings for book reviews, poems, moving picture reviews, Canadian drama, and short stories.
An Index to Book Reviews in the Humanities
REF Z1035 .A1I38 (1961-1990)
Strong coverage of academic and non-fiction books; international in scope.
Note: does not continue to the present day.
Publication coverage: 1850 - present

Includes complete runs of 12 major American journals that regularly contain important articles on politics and public policy, covering the spectrum from liberal to conservative.

Publication coverage: 1983 - present
Print holdings: REF AI3.R2 from 1900- (Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature)
REF AP3.R496 (1890-1922) (Nineteenth Century Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature)
The last section in each volume lists book reviews by author.

See also the guide Find and Write Book Reviews.

Last Updated: 17 July 2009