Advanced research in literary studies
may require you to consult early editions of works, or to find
materials not recently reprinted. The library has a number of
resources to help you identify these, and in many cases they are
available in full text at Queen's on microfiche or online. In
addition, Special Collections in Douglas Library has extensive
manuscript and early imprint collections.
The Internet is now home to many open
repositories of digitized early editions and manuscripts. See
for selected resources.
For more information about what
primary sources are and why you might want to consult them, check
the general Primary
Publication coverage: Pre-1925
- A database of 485,000 citations, this is a core resource for
researching nineteenth-century topics focusing on cultural and
intellectual life. Other periodical indexes are also searchable
at this site. Citations only.
The CIHM provides access to early printed Canadian materials
on microfiche and through Early Canadiana Online. The
collection contains more than 65 thousand titles from the 18th,
19th and early 20th centuries.
The fiche collection is shelved in the W.D. Jordan Library
(Special Collections). To find out what is in the collection,
search QCAT with keywords and add CIHM to your search:
- CIHM and "red river settlement"
Publication coverage: 1473 - 1700
- From the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, contains about 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection, and the Early English Books Tract Supplement.
Publication coverage: 1701-1800
- Digital reproductions of nearly 150,000 English-language
titles and editions published during the 18th century and
representing every significant English-language and
foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with
thousands of important works from the Americas.
Publication coverage: 1473 - 1800
- Includes a comprehensive bibliography of the printed output
of the hand-press era, lists the whereabouts of surviving copies,
and notes the existence of facsimiles. The holdings of over 1,500
libraries around the world are represented. Geographically, the
- All relevant items printed in the British Isles
- All relevant items printed in Colonial America, the United
States (1776-1800) and Canada
- All relevant items printed in territories governed by Britain
during any period up to 1800
- All relevant items, printed wholly or partly in English, or
other British vernaculars, in any other part of the world
Publication coverage: 1830 - 1898
- Intended to entertain, inform and educate American women;
today considered to be one of the most important resources for
19th-century American life and culture.
The Internet Library of Early Journals
- Journals include: Gentleman's Magazine, The Annual Register,
Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society, Notes and
Queries, The Builder, and Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine.
Publication coverage: 19th century - present
- Includes fiction, poetry and plays written by Latin American
writers with Hispanic background working in the United
Publication coverage: 1892 - present (some primary texts date from 600 AD)
Access restricted to the Queen's community (4 user limit)
- Searchable database of English and American poetry, drama, and prose.
Nineteenth Century Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature
REF AP3.R496 (1890-1899)
Publication coverage: 1801 - 1919
- NSTC aims to provide listings of British books printed
between 1801 and 1919. "British books" are defined as "all books
published in Britain, its colonies, and the United States of
America; all books in English wherever published; and all
translations from English."
The MacIsaac Memorial Fund and the K. Phyllis Wilson Library Endowment Fund
- Full-text primary resources (monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more) of Photography: The World Through the Lens; Science, Technology and Medicine, 1780-1925; Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest; and Women: Transnational Networks.
Publication coverage: 1790 - 1905
Publication coverage: varies; see individual titles
- PEP Web provides access to the PEP Web archive, which contains both books and journal articles. The book archive includes the full text of the Standard Edition of the Complete Psychological Works of Sigmund Freud, Freud's letters to his major collaborators and the full text of the major works by Wilfred Bion, Melanie Klein and Donald Winnicott along with other major psychoanalytic authors. The journals in the archive presently include the full text many premier English-language journals in psychoanalysis.
- Provides e-text editions of public domain novels and historical documents.
Publication coverage: 1983 - present
Print holdings: REF AI3.R2 from 1900- (Readers' Guide to Periodical
REF AP3.R496 (1890-1922) (Nineteenth Century Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature)
- Indexes and abstracts Canadian and U.S. journals, magazines, and newspapers.
and Lorne Pierce Canadiana Collection is the centrepiece of
the W.D. Jordan
Library. The resources available at Queen's for Canadian
historical and literary studies pre- and post-Confederation are
outstanding. The collection of early North American travel and
exploration literature is extensive. Supplementing this
collection is the Library's complete holdings of microform and
online reproductions produced by CIHM.
Archives preserves records and manuscripts in two areas:
University Records and Literary
A Guide to the Holdings of Queen's
REF CD3649.K5Q46 1986t
Detailed List of Canadian Literary
Manuscripts Acquired to Dec.
REF Z1375.Q43 1980at (WD Jordan Special Collections)
Other resources include:
Index of English Literary
- Location and other details on manuscript collections for
major British authors for the period 450-1900 in four volumes.
Also provides useful summaries of scholarship and notes about
special problems associated with manuscript studies for each
Location Register of English Literary
Manuscripts and Letters: Eighteenth and Nineteenth
REF Z6611.L7L629 1995t
Location Register of Twentieth-Century
English Literary Manuscripts and Letters: A Union List of Papers
of Modern English, Irish, Scottish and Welsh Authors in the
Z6611.L7L63 1988t (Stauffer Library books)
- Identifies manuscripts (including proofs, sound recordings,
and electronic documents) by British writers, which are available
for public consultation at libraries throughout the British
Isles. Coverage is for 20th-century authors, including those who
died after December 31, 1899.
Literary Archives Guide
CA1 AK 88L31 (Government Documents)
- Provides brief descriptions of major Canadian literary
collections acquired by the Manuscript Division of National
Archives before September 30, 1987.