Queen's University - Utility Bar

Queen's University Library

Environmental Studies: Encyclopedias, Dictionaries & Handbooks

All items are available in the Reference Section on the first floor (Level 5) of Engineering and Science Library, unless otherwise noted. Suggestions are welcomed: Morag Coyne

GREEN MOVEMENT

Green Business: An A-to-Z Guide

Green Cities: An A-to-Z Guide

Green Consumerism: An A-to-Z Guide

Green Energy: An A-to-Z Guide

Green Food: An A-to-Z Guide

Green Politics: An A-to-Z Guide

HYDROLOGY

Encyclopedia of Hydrology and Water Resources
Ref GB655.E53 1998
This encyclopedia covers many aspects of hydrology and water resources, including water pollution. Planners, policy makers, regulators and decision makers are the primary audience.

Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences
GC9.E57 2001

ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCES, GENERAL

Environmental Analysis and Remediation
Ref GE10.E49 1998
An eight-volume professional-level compendium covering all aspects of the environment with an emphasis on comprehensive coverage of sampling, analysis, and remediation. Topics such as pollution sources, pollution transport, regulations, and health effects are also presented. The eighth volume includes a detailed subject index.

The Encyclopaedic Dictionary of Environmental Change
GE10 .E534 2001 Stauffer Library Reference

Dictionary of Environmental Science and Technology
GE10.P67 2000

Encyclopedia of Environmental Science
Ref GE10 .E535 1999t

Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy
Ref GE42 E533 2009

Encyclopedia of Environmetrics
GE45.S73 E53 2002 Stauffer Library Reference
A comprehensive overview of environmetric research and its applications

Encyclopedia of Global Change : Environmental Change and Human Society
GE149 .E47 2002 Stauffer Library Reference

Encyclopedia of Global Environmental Change
Ref GE149 .E443 2002 (5 vols)

International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioural Sciences

Oxford Reference Online - Earth and Environmental Sciences

ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCES - ENVIRONMENTAL POLICY

International Encyclopedia of Environmental Politics
GE170 .I55 2002 Stauffer Library Reference

ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT

Canadian Environmental Directory
Ref TD171.5.C2 C3t
This is a national listing of environmental organizations and associations, special libraries, government groups, and more. Sections include: Products and Services, Government, and Associations.

Encyclopedia of Ecology and Environmental Management
Ref GE300.E53 1998

HUMAN ECOLOGY, ANTHROPOGEOGRAPHY

Encyclopedia of World Environmental History (3 vols)
Ref GF10.E63 2004

HUMAN INFLUENCES ON THE ENVIRONMENT

Encyclopedia of the Biosphere
Ref GF75 .B5613 2000t
An 11-volume reference set featuring comprehensive coverage of the earth's major biomes, their characteristics, and their operations. It explains for students and general researchers how their ecosystems have been transformed by human activity.

CONSERVATION

Conservation (4 volumes)
QH75 C64 2009
v. 1. The idea of conservation v. 2. The conservation of diversity v. 3. Conservation and development v. 4. The politics of conservation.

ECOLOGY

Encyclopedia of Ecology
Entries cover a range of topics, including: Behavioral Ecology Ecological Processes Ecological Modeling Ecological Engineering Ecological Indicators Ecological Informatics Ecosystems Ecotoxicology Evolutionary Ecology General Ecology Global Ecology Human Ecology System Ecology

Encyclopedia of Environmental Biology
QH540.4.E52 1995
A three-volume work intended for use by both students and research professionals. Articles cover a range of topics related to the study of the environment such as agroecology, artificial habitats for fish, desertification, coral reef ecosystems, fire ecology, forest insect control, germplasm conservation, nutrient cycling in forests, and restoration ecology. Each article includes a glossary of terms and a bibliography. The third volume includes a detailed subject index.

Encyclopedia of Biodiversity
Ref QH541.15 .B56E53 2001
A four-volume comprehensive study of the topic of diversity in the natural world.

Seas at the Millennium: an Environmental Evaluation
QH541.5 .S3 S35 2000

LAW OF CANADA

Dictionary of Environmental Law and Science
KE3617.3 T54 1994 Lederman Law Library

AGRICULTURE, GENERAL

Encyclopedia of Water Science
Print: Ref S494.5 W3 E54 2003

Soil and Environmental Science Dictionary
S592 S59 2001

Encyclopedia of Soils in the Environment
Ref S596 E53 2005t

Encyclopedia of Soil Science
Print: Ref S592 .E517 2008

Dictionary of Agriculture
S411 D573 1998

Dictionary of Agricultural and Environmental Science
S411 T76 2003

FORESTRY, AGRICULTURE

Encyclopedia of forest sciences
Ref SD126 .E53 2004t

ENVIRONMENTAL TECHNOLOGY

Encyclopedia of Environmental Science and Engineering
Ref TD9 E5 2006

Environmental Engineering Dictionary
TD9.L44 1992

Environmental Engineering Dictionary and Directory

Environmental Engineers' Handbook
Print: TD145.E574 1997

ENVIRONMENTAL EFFECTS OF INDUSTRY AND PLANTS

Mining Environmental Handbook
TD195.M5M56 1997t

Dictionary of Environmentally Important Chemicals
TD196 C45A97 1998

Handbook of Physical-Chemical Properties and Environmental Fate for Organic Chemicals
Print: TD196 O73 M32 2006

ENVIRONMENTAL TECHNOLOGY, WATER SUPPLY

Water Encyclopedia
Print: TD345 .L393 2005

POWER RESOURCES

Encyclopedia of Energy Technology and the Environment
TJ163.235.E53 1995
This four-volume encyclopaedia provides information on the technology involved in energy production and use as well as information on how those technologies affect the environment and quality of life on this planet.

Last Updated: 25 June 2013