Queen's University - Utility Bar

Queen's University Library

Evidence Based Practice Resources: Evidence Based Practice Databases

EBP Databases

Resources listed in this section provide some type of evidence based analysis, synthesis and/or summary of a particular topic, study or question that will aid in evidence based decision making.

  You are connecting from off-campus. You will be prompted to enter your NetID and password before connecting to a Queen's-only database.
Summarises the current state of knowledge and uncertainty about the prevention and treatment of clinical conditions, based on thorough searches and appraisal of the literature. Describing the best available evidence from systematic reviews, RCTs and observational studies where appropriate, the database is intended as a tool for clinicians, and thereby patients, to help them make evidence-based healthcare decisions.
Collection of high-quality, independent evidence databases to inform healthcare decision-making at all levels.
The Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database allows you to search simultaneously, a wide range of summarized and appraised evidence, to inform your practice. This comprehensive range of resources includes over 3,000 records across seven publication types: Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, Systematic Review Protocols, and Technical Reports.
Evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. Information is incorporated into comprehensive monographs which are designed to facilitate clinical decision making.
The CRD undertakes reviews of research about the effects of interventions used in health and social care. It helps to promote the use of research-based knowledge, offering three databases: DARE (Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects), NHS EED (NHS Economic Evaluation Database) and the HTA (Health Technology Assessment) database.
Abstracts of systematic reviews and randomized controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy. Trials have been critically appraised and rated to assist in evaluation.
Publication coverage: 1991-
A group of databases which provide clinicians with systematic reviews of topics; article reviews; and access to definitive controlled trials. The content, which is produced by the Cochrane Collaboration, the American College of Physicians, and the NHS Centre for Reviews and Dissemination, can be searched as separate databases or as one, combined file.
PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. It gives access to bibliographic details and abstracts of randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. Most trials on the database have been rated for quality to help discriminate between trials which are likely to be valid and interpretable and those which are not.
Publication coverage: Updated monthly.
Decision-support tool designed for rapid point-of-care delivery of evidence-based guidance for physicians. Modules focus on the diagnosis and treatment of diseases. Published by the American College of Physicians.
SUMSearch searches the best Internet sites for a particular query. A single document is returned that organizes the list of links by breadth of discussion. SUMSearch only queries Internet sites that contain evidence written by qualified professionals. The majority of the links provided by SUMSearch come from three internet sites - The National Library of Medicine, DARE and the National Guideline Clearinghouse.
Resources for evidence-based medicine.

Last Updated: 08 September 2009