Queen's University - Utility Bar

Queen's University Library

Film and Media: Article Indexes

Journal articles are not listed in QCAT. Use an index to find magazine and journal articles. Articles are important in your research as they contain the most-up-to-date research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic. There are different types of articles: scholarly, popular or trade.

Tip: Remember to search journal title and not article title in QCAT

Key Indexes

  You are connecting from off-campus. You will be prompted to enter your NetID and password before connecting to a Queen's-only database.
Publication coverage: 1900-
Reviews, production, and biographical information
Publication coverage: Online: 1893-1974 comprehensively; additional records cover selected major films from 1975 onwards.
The American Film Institute Catalog of films, with plot summaries, filmographic information, and more ...
A premier index with international emphasis on film & tv literature, with strong emphasis on European journals
Publication coverage: From mid 20th century (with selective earlier coverage) -
Print holdings: REF Z5784.M9F45 1973-2004 (Film Literature Index)
Online counterpart of Film Literature Index.
Film Literature Index
REF Z5784.M9.F45 1973-2004
"The premier film and television index", indexes scholarly, popular and trade film journals. Online counterpart: Film and Television Literature Index. For earlier scholarship, consult Retrospective Index to Film Periodicals.
Retrospective Index to Film Periodicals, 1930-1971
REF Z5784.M9B39
Includes contents of fourteen film journals, plus the film reviews and articles from the Village Voice

Other Useful Indexes

  You are connecting from off-campus. You will be prompted to enter your NetID and password before connecting to a Queen's-only database.
Publication coverage: 1975 - present
Indexes both scholarly articles about the theater and critical reviews of theatrical performances.
Biography Index
REF Z5301.B61 from 1946-
Indexes biographical information in selected periodicals and books.
British Humanities Index
AI3.B86 from 1962-2009 (Compact Shelving)
Good source of information, especially about British films, actors, directors and more....
Publication coverage: Varies with publication
Publication coverage: Indexed articles: 1977 - present ; Full-text articles: 1983 - present
Print holdings: 1920 - 1998: Check QCAT
Good place to start to find information about Canadian films, actors, actresses, directors and other people in the film industry.
The Critical Index: A Bibliography of Articles on Film in English, 1946-1973
REF Z5784.M9.G47
Indexes articles from over 20 American, British, and Canadian journals on directors, producers, actors, critics, screenwriters, cinematographers, specific films and the history of the film industry.
The New Film Index: A Bibliography of Magazine Articles in English, 1930-1970
REF Z5784.M9.M29 1975
A supplement to The Film Index.
New York Times Index
Refer to our News Resources Guide.
Publication coverage: 1983 - present
Print holdings: REF AI3.R2 from 1900- (Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature)
REF AP3.R496 (1890-1922) (Nineteenth Century Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature)
Indexes general interest journals, magazines, and newspapers from Canada and the U.S.

For a list of serial publications devoted to "moving image materials", check the annotated bibliography, Film, Television, and Video Periodicals: a Comprehensive Annotated List.
REF Z5784.M9L68 1991

Last Updated: 14 December 2010