Queen's University - Utility Bar

Queen's University Library

Finding Images

Images provide a visual element that can strongly enhance coursework. However, finding images of a sufficient quality can be challenging. It is also important to ensure the image may be used without violating copyright.

The following sources are ones that we recommend to locate images:

Wild Donkeys of the Richtersveld

Search Engines

As with websites, there are billions of images available on the internet. The quality of these images can vary greatly

Google Image Search


Advanced search provides limiters for type of content, file size, file type, colouration, and domain name.
Yahoo Image Search

Advanced search features include limiting by size, colouration, and domain type.
Creative Commons Images

Finds photos, music, text, books, educational material, and more that is free to share or build upon utilizing Creative Commons enabled search services.

Illustrated Magazines at Queen's Library

Refer to our selected list of illustrated magazines and check QCAT for their holdings and location, focusing on your area and year(s) of interest.

  • Use an index or database to identify citations for articles in the magazines listed. Since they are illustrated, you may find illustrations in the indexed articles. The following selected indexes may include some of our illustrated magazines (dates vary):
    • Academic Search Complete
      Search Image Collection under 'More' at top of search screen. Limit results by publication date (at right of search screen). Indexes only a few illustrated magazines on our list.
    • Canadian Periodicals (CPI.Q)
      Limit search results to documents with images.
      1977-present (full text from 1983, many pdf full text articles since 1983)
      Print: REF AI3 .C21 (1920-1998)
    • Godey's Lady's Book
      Digitized facsimile of an early American women's magazine, including illustrations. (1830 - 1898)
    • Illustrated London News
      Historical Archive from 1842-2003 - provides digital, searchable reproduction in colour.
    • Libris Canadiana
      Indexes selected Canadian periodicals, including Maclean's (1905-1976) and Saturday Night (Sept. 11, 1909-Dec. 26, 1914 and Jan. 3, 1920-Dec. 29, 1945).
    • 19th Century UK Periodicals
      Collection of magazines, journals and newspapers; narrow search to articles with illustrations: cartoon, chart, drawing, photograph, colour images etc.
    • OpinionArchives
      Includes complete runs of 11 major American journals, including Harper's Magazine and The New Yorker.
  • Many illustrated magazines are not indexed, especially historical ones. Browse relevant magazines by sequentially going through the issues.

Art Databases

Databases of art image collections available at Queen's University Library:

ARTstor

Collection of almost 1 million images covering a broad range of world cultures in many mediums, including painting, architecture, sculpture, photography, decorative arts and design, and archaeology. NOTE: ARTstor images are for non-commercial educational and scholarly uses only.

FADIS

Federated Academic Digital Imaging System is a shared repository of images developed for image based teaching of art and architecture.

Index of Christian Art

A database of medieval art in existence with full-text records for over 23,000 works of art dating from early apostolic times to A.D. 1400.

Oxford Art Online

The database includes extensive image links, including searchable access to a growing list of art image collections such as Art Resource and The Bridgeman Art Library.

Online Image Collections

Many libraries, archives, museums and other organizations make their collections available online, mainly for scholarly and research purposes.

Ad*Access

Historical advertisements -- images printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911-1955 -- drawn from Duke University Library's Archives. Main subject areas: radio, TV, transportation, beauty and hygiene, and World War II.

Digital Collections Unit

The DCU "fosters the creation of and access to research and scholarly material in digital form from across the University of Minnesota."

Digital Image Resources on the Deep Web

Images Canada

Hosted by Library and Archives Canada, Images Canada allows users to search images from participating cultural institutions from across Canada.

LIFE Magazine Photo Archive

Search historic images from the 1750s to today. Hosted by Google.

NYPL Digital Gallery

An online archive of 275,000 images, available to the public for free. Includes Civil War photographs, illuminated manuscripts, Japanese prints, early American maps, and photographs of New York City buildings and streetscapes.

OurOntario.ca

Digital images, text, audio and video materials about Ontario history, heritage and culture.

Prints and Photographs Online Catalogue

A repository of digital resources contributed by member libraries, with Phase One of the project focusing on visual materials, including digital images of woodcuts, photographs, slides, papyri, coins, maps, and manuscripts.

WorldImages

Provides access to the California State University IMAGE Project. Global coverage.

Photo Sharing Sites

Photo sharing sites allow individuals to upload their own photos for others to view. Photos are searchable by descriptive tags and other text users add to their photos. Some images on these sites may be used under Creative Commons licensing, at the discretion of the poster. Some of the most popular photo sharing sites include:

Flickr has introduced The Commons, where member institutions make available images that have no known copyright restrictions. Some of the participating institutions include the Library of Congress and the Musée McCord Museum in Montreal.

Other institutions are making some collections available independent of The Commons, including Library and Archives Canada and the Boston Public Library, most of these images are available for use under Creative Commons licensing.

Last Updated: 25 July 2011