Queen's University - Utility Bar

Queen's University Library

Gender Studies: Article Indexes

Key Indexes

  You are connecting from off-campus. You will be prompted to enter your NetID and password before connecting to a Queen's-only database.
Publication coverage: 1972 - present
Incorporates formerly separate databases such as Women's Studies International, Sexual Diversity Studies, and more. This database may lean more towards the Social Sciences rather than Arts and Humanities so be sure to investigate some of the other databases listed below.
Publication coverage: 1952 - present
Premiere database for finding sociological research, including gender studies, studies in violence and power, family and social welfare and more.... Searches over 2000 journals.
Publication coverage: 1953-
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender issues.
A current bibliography of articles about women's and gender history. Started as a special project at the University of Utrecht and continued by the International Institute of Social History.

Other Useful Indexes

  You are connecting from off-campus. You will be prompted to enter your NetID and password before connecting to a Queen's-only database.
Publication coverage: 1986 - present
English language. Includes African Women Bibliographic Database which has over 22,000 citations from 1986 to current. Materials indexed include: books; government documents; articles in edited books; journal articles; dissertations; videos.
Publication coverage: 1991 - 2009
Print holdings: 1969 - present Access restricted to the Queen's community (5 user limit)
A subject index to alternative or radical journals and magazines.
Publication coverage: Late 19th century - present
Provides indexing in the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related fields.
Publication coverage: 1959 - present
Interdisciplinary, with a focus on publications from ethnic, minority and native presses.
A searchable bibliography with citations to journal articles and books.
Publication coverage: 1990 - present
Medieval women and gender index.
(Catherine J. Lavender, Dept. of History, Univ. of Colorado at Boulder)
List of over 700 books and journal articles on women in the western United States. This is a text file. Use CTRL-F to search through the page for keywords of interest.
This searchable database provides citations to books and essay collections of feminist literary criticism and gender studies focusing on British and American literature. Emphasis also on general resources and introductory texts in feminist theory. Use MLA Bibliography to research specific literary authors and to find citations to journal articles.
Publication coverage: 1980 - present
GeoBase includes human geography and development studies. A search of "feminist or feminism" finds over 900 citations.
Publication coverage: 1830 - 1898
Magazine intended to entertain, inform and educate the women in America. An important resource of 19th century American life and culture.
Publication coverage: 1951-   (updated quarterly)
Multidisciplinary. Provides international coverage and indexes journal articles, books, reviews and selected chapters.
Publication coverage: Varies depending on publication.
A complete guide to the diverse literature of the left. Covers scholarly journals, radical periodicals, books, and more....
Publication coverage: 1802-1995
Facsimile page images and searchable full-text for approximately 500 international and scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Interdisciplinary. Examines all aspects of Hispanic Studies.
Publication coverage: 1806-
Indexes the international literature in psychology and related disciplines.

Last Updated: 19 May 2011