Primary Sources Research Starting Points
Collections of note include:
Publication coverage: 1500 to 1950
- Includes diaries, correspondence, journal articles, pamphlets, newsletters and more..., from 1500-1900.
- Historical documents to support study and analysis of gender, leisure and consumer culture.
- This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to Katrina Thomas's photographs of ethnic weddings from the late 20th century.
Publication coverage: 1830 - 1898
- Digitized facsimile of an early American women's magazine which was intended to entertain, inform, and educate the women of America.
- An index to English language personal narratives.
- Material from and about Mass Observation, the British social research organization.
The MacIsaac Memorial Fund and the K. Phyllis Wilson Library Endowment Fund
- A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the long nineteenth century. Collections include Women: Transnational Networks, which “focuses on issues at the intersection of gender and class from the late-eighteenth century to the era of suffrage in the early-twentieth century, all through a transnational perspective. The collection contains deep information on European and North American movements, but also expands its scope to include collections from other regions.”
Publication coverage: Colonial times - present
- Plays, biographical, production, and theatrical information.
Publication coverage: Colonial - 1950
Publication coverage: 18th century - present
K Phyllis Wilson Library Endowment Fund
Publication coverage: 1892-current
- A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images.
Publication coverage: 1600-2000
- Primary and secondary documents, images, a chronology of U.S. women's history and more...