Queen's University - Utility Bar

Queen's University Library

Genealogy: Genealogy Resources in Government Documents

Please read our Frequently Asked Questions.

Census records on microfilm

Government Documents in Stauffer Library has a complete set of manuscript (personal name) census records on microfilm for Canada from 1666 to 1911, the 1906 Census of the Northwest Provinces (Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba), and the 1916 Census for the Western Provinces.

Census records online

Digital images of census records are available via Library and Archives Canada for:

Indices to Canadian Censuses
Transcribed index to the 1851, 1901, 1906, and 1911 censuses from the microfilm held at Library and Archives Canada.

A database of census records for "heads" and "strays" only is available for:

Access tools for census records

  • Canada - 1666 to 1901
    Catalogue of Census Returns on Microfilm 1666-1901
    Geographical index to census microfilm numbers.
    Note: This is not a family name index.
    Paper: In two volumes (1666-1891 and 1901). Shelved on the census microfilm cabinets.
  • Ontario - 1871
    1871 Census of Canada (Ontario index)
    Searchable database of census records for "heads" (heads of households) and "strays" (people with a different surname living in the household)
    Electronic:
    via Queen's University
    via Library and Archives Canada
    Paper: Shelved on the census microfilm cabinets
  • Kingston area - various years
    Indexes by name of head of household for selected locations in the Kingston area for selected census years.
    Paper: Shelved on the census microfilm cabinets
  • Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba - 1906
    Census of the Northwest Provinces, 1906 - database searchable by Province, District Name, District Number, and Sub-district Number but not by family name.

Other resources

Last Updated: 20 September 2011