Queen's University - Utility Bar

Queen's University Library

Geography: Article Indexes

Journal articles are not listed in QCAT. Use an index to find magazine and journal articles. Articles are important in your research as they contain the most-up-to-date research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic. There are different types of articles: scholarly, popular or trade.

Tip: Remember to search journal title and not article title in QCAT

Key Indexes

  You are connecting from off-campus. You will be prompted to enter your NetID and password before connecting to a Queen's-only database.
Publication coverage: 1980 - present
Covers global literature in earth science, ecology, geography, and marine science.
Publication coverage: Geology of North America: 1693 - present ; Geology worldwide: 1933 - present
Indexes articles on geography, particularly as it relates to geology.

Multidisciplinary Social Sciences Indexes

  You are connecting from off-campus. You will be prompted to enter your NetID and password before connecting to a Queen's-only database.
Publication coverage: 1984 - present (updated monthly)
A multilingual, multidisciplinary index covering geography and more ...
Publication coverage: 1951-   (updated quarterly)
Social science and interdisciplinary research with international coverage.
Publication coverage: Science Citation Index: 1900 - present ; Social Sciences Citation Index: 1956 - present ; Arts and Humanities: 1975 - present
Access restricted to the Queen's community (50 user limit)
An index to major journals in the social sciences, including demography, cultural, economic, historical and human geography, planning and environmental studies.

Broad Multidisciplinary Indexes

  You are connecting from off-campus. You will be prompted to enter your NetID and password before connecting to a Queen's-only database.
Publication coverage: 1865 - present
Peer-reviewed journals, conference proceedings, monographs and reports covering a broad spectrum of topics.
Use the Google search engine to locate articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles published on the "open" web.
Publication coverage: Varies by journal title
The content in Scholars Portal comprises the most complete multi-disciplinary database of peer reviewed academic literature available anywhere.

Public Health & Geography

  You are connecting from off-campus. You will be prompted to enter your NetID and password before connecting to a Queen's-only database.
Publication coverage: 1981 - present
Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. Index to English-language journals in nursing, occupational therapy, physical therapy, consumer health and other allied health fields.
A digital archive of full-text, peer-reviewed health and life sciences literature.
A pre-selected group of databases covering literature published in health & medicine. Each database can be searched separately but they also can be searched as a group, from this starting point.

Other Useful Subject-Oriented Indexes

  You are connecting from off-campus. You will be prompted to enter your NetID and password before connecting to a Queen's-only database.
Publication coverage: Late 19th century - present
Access restricted to the Queen's community (15 user limit)
Provides indexing in the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related fields.
The Arctic Science and Technology Information System (ASTIS) database covers many aspects of northern Canada, including the earth sciences, the life sciences, engineering and technology, renewable and non-renewable resources, co-management, politics and government, economic and social conditions, land use, indigenous peoples, archaeology, history, art and literature.
Publication coverage: 1982 - present
Indexes Canadian popular and academic journals as well as business and special interest journals.
Publication coverage: 2006 - present
An important index from U.S. and English language geographical research.
Geographical Abstracts
Call number varies | in SL Compact Shelving | (1967-1980)
Print indexes containing citations to research in physical & human geography, climatology, geomorphology, and cartography. Superseded by Geobase.
Publication coverage: 1915 - present
Covers public and social policy materials, including journals, books, government publications, pamphlets, and reports of public and private agencies.
Publication coverage: 1900 - present
An interdisciplinary index to major journals in the sciences, including physical geography, planning and resource management.

Last Updated: 20 March 2013