Queen's University - Utility Bar

Queen's University Library

Geological Sciences: Article Indexes & Databases

Core Research Databases

  You are connecting from off-campus. You will be prompted to enter your NetID and password before connecting to a Queen's-only database.
Publication coverage: 1980 - present
A comprehensive, international and interdisciplinary database covering physical and human geography, geology, ecology, and Third World studies. Over 600,000 abstracts of more than 2,000 journals, monographs, books, conference proceedings, reports, and theses.
Publication coverage: Geology of North America: 1693 - present ; Geology worldwide: 1933 - present
Access to over 1.8 million references to articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses.
Comprises more than 45 000 records of publications released by Canada Centre for Remote Sensing (CCRS) or Geological Survey of Canada (GSC) authors.
Collection of earth science literature consisting of the Geological Society of London's journals, special publications and book series issued from 1845 to the present.
Search the Society of Exploration Geophysicists' journals, meeting abstracts, technical articles and encyclopedia.
Comprehensive online resource for research in the geosciences, built on a core compilation of peer-reviewed journals indexed, linked, and inter-operable with GeoRef.

Related Research Databases

  You are connecting from off-campus. You will be prompted to enter your NetID and password before connecting to a Queen's-only database.
Index to paper aerial photographs available in the Map and Air Photo Collection of Queen's University Library (collection is located on the Lower Level of Stauffer Library).
Publication coverage: Varies by journal start date.
Comprehensive collection of critical reviews by leading scientists, covering 29 disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences.
Publication coverage: 1926 - present (updated weekly)
All areas of life science including agriculture, biochemistry, biotechnology, ecology, immunology, microbiology, molecular genetics, neuroscience, pharmacology, public health, toxicology, zoology.
Publication coverage: 1965 - present
Current Research @ Queen's indexes and abstracts dissertations and theses defended at Queen's University. Full-text available for titles published after 1996. Microfiche copies of Queen's thesis are available in Stauffer library.
Publication coverage: Varies by journal title
Scholarly journal publishers such as Kluwer, Elsevier, Springer, Cambridge and Oxford University Presses and more.
Publication coverage: 1948 - present
Energy and energy-related scientific and technical information from the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE).
International coverage of articles and books about environmental issues.
Catalogue of current and historical Canadian and U.S. geological survey maps housed in the Lindsley Earth Sciences Reading Room, Queen's University. This project is a work in progress and will continue until completed
The Queen's University Library's collection of GIS data consists of a variety of local, national and international coverages. Use this database to see what data are available. Staff are also available to assist you in locating data - please contact us at madgic@post.queensu.ca.
Publication coverage: 1979 - present (updated frequently)
Access restricted to the Queen's community (10 user limit)
Indexes: scientific and engineering publications pertaining to the international minerals industry.
Indexed are: "Published papers, books, reports, etc. covering technical research and development and operating practices in economic geology, mining technology and extraction processing for metalliferous and industrial minerals, worldwide.
Publication coverage: 1896 - present
Comprehensive coverage physics, electronics, computing, control engineering and information technology.
Publication coverage: Varies by title
Complete collection of Knovel Science and Engineering books and databases. Over 500 titles and 20 million data records.
Collection of more than 1,600 professionally focussed engineering e-books.
Publication coverage: 1907 - present.
Print holdings: 1907 - 1999 (v. 1 - v. 131) in Stauffer Library storage. Access restricted to the Queen's community (7 user limit)
Search Chemical Abstracts, Medline, the Registry File, and CAS React. 5 simultaneous users.
How to connect guide.
Publication coverage: 1900 - present
Access restricted to the Queen's community (50 user limit)
Online version of Science Citation Index
Database indexes 8,500 leading scholarly research journals.
Indexes dissertations from over 1,000 universities throughout North America and worldwide. 24 page previews for all theses submitted since 1997. Online order option.

All databases for Geological Sciences

All databases for Engineering & Science

Last Updated: 09 November 2009