Queen's University - Utility Bar

Queen's University Library

Global Development Studies: Article Indexes

Journal articles are not listed in QCAT. Use an index to find magazine and journal articles. Articles are important in your research as they contain the most-up-to-date research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic. There are different types of articles: scholarly, popular or trade.

Tip: Remember to search journal title and not article title in QCAT

Key Indexes

  You are connecting from off-campus. You will be prompted to enter your NetID and password before connecting to a Queen's-only database.
Publication coverage: 1886 - present
Subject focus: economics. Indexes articles from over 750 journals as well as books, dissertations, working papers, and book reviews. For earlier coverage, see Index of Economic Articles.
Publication coverage: 1915 - present
Indexes articles, books, government documents and more from over 120 countries in the area of business, economics, finance, law, international relations, public administration, government, and contemporary public issues.
Publication coverage: 1980 - present
An international and interdisciplinary database for the fields of physical and human geography, geology, ecology, and Third World studies, including development studies, ecology, human geography and environmental issues.
Provides access to literature in political science, political thought, government and public administration, government process, international relations, and area studies.
Publication coverage: 1975-
Indexes over 1,000 journals within the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, public administration, and public policy.

Other Useful Indexes

  You are connecting from off-campus. You will be prompted to enter your NetID and password before connecting to a Queen's-only database.
Approximately 1000 major international business and management journals. Covers topics such as business conditions and trends, economics, finance, human resources and management, taxation.
Publication coverage: Late 19th century - present
Provides indexing in the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related fields.
Abstracts of selected books and articles in the humanities and social sciences. Includes all the islands of the Caribbean archipelago, as well as the mainland territories of Belize and the Guianas.
Publication coverage: 18th century to present
Founded in 1963. Joint effort by worldwide research libraries and the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) to promote the preservation of publications and archives concerning Sub-Saharan African nations. Materials are available in microform via interlibrary loan.
Publication coverage: 1972 - present
Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship. The database indexes scholarly, popular, and internet publications.
Publication coverage: 1973 - present
Information related to human health and communicable diseases, including developing country information.
Publication coverage: 1954 - present
Access restricted to the Queen's community (6 user limit)
Comprehensive index to the world's historical literature (except Canada and the United States). Covers the time period from 1450 - present.
Publication coverage: 1936-
Print holdings: REF Z1605.H2 from 1935-
The Handbook of Latin American Studies is a selective annotated bibliography of scholarly works on Latin America.
Publication coverage: 1906 - present (updated annually)
Print holdings: 1665 - 1905
Index Islamicus is an index, organized by subject, to periodical articles and other collective publications on subjects related to Islam. Each volume includes an author index. The print covers 1665 to 1980.
Publication coverage: Varies depending on publication.
A complete guide to the diverse literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship.
Publication coverage: 1980 - present
Online library of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).
Presents an annotated bibliography of recently published books, journal articles, working papers, and other materials on population topics. Earlier volumes are available through JSTOR.
Database of gender and development materials composed of donated reports, proceedings, policy documents, bibliographies, research articles and theses.
Publication coverage: 1900 - present
An index to major journals in the social sciences, including demography, cultural, economic, historical and human geography, planning and environmental studies.

Last Updated: 17 July 2009