Queen's University - Utility Bar

Queen's University Library

The following is a selection of frequently used websites. For more sites, check Government Documents Country Information.

Africa Focus: Sights and Sounds of a Continent (University of Wisconsin)

This is a collection of digitized photographs and sound files from across Africa. It includes over 3000 slides, 500 photographs, and 50 hours of sound from forty-five different countries.

Africa Web Links (University of Pennsylvania)

An annotated guide to web resources about Africa, organized by subject.

AllAfrica

African news service.

Almisbah

From the Middle East Virtual Library, operated in part by the University Library Saxony-Anhalt in Halle (Germany), Almisbah is a database providing access to selected Internet resources on the Middle East and on Islam respectively. It is a fully searchable database of links to, and information about, website relating to Islam and the Middle East.

British Library for Development Studies

"Contains the largest collection of economic and social development materials in Europe, with over half originating from developing countries."

Chief George Manuel Library: Fourth World Documentation Archive

Operated through the Center for World Indigenous Studies, it is an online library of texts that record and preserve indigenous peoples' struggles to regain their rightful place in the international community. The archive has grown into the Chief George Manuel Memorial Library with more than 100,000 documents, reports, and publications from American Indian nations and indigenous nations from around the world. More than 1000 of these documents have been digitized those interested in policy developments in the Fourth World.

CIAO, Columbia International Affairs Online

"...most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs...includes working papers from university research institutes, ... NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs." Indexing starts in 1991.

Development Gateway

The Development Gateway portal is an interactive portal for information on sustainable development and poverty reduction, providing a space where people can share knowledge, experiences, resources, and tools on development.

Directory of Development Organizations

Guide to International Organizations, Governments, Private Sector Institutions, Development Agencies, Universities, Research and Training Institutes, NGOs/PDOs, Grant makers, Banks, Microfinance Institutions and Development Consulting Firms.

ELDIS: Electronic Development and Environment Information System

Produced by the British Library for Development Studies, based at the Institute of Development Studies, Brighton, UK.

GDN: Global Development Network

"International Organization of research and policy institutes promoting the generation, sharing and application to policy of multidisciplinary knowledge for the purpose of development."

Global Health Key Websites (McGill University Libraries)

HuriSearch

Searches over 3000 human rights websites

International Monetary Fund

The IMF is an international organization of 184 member countries. It was established to promote international monetary cooperation, exchange stability, and orderly exchange arrangements; to foster economic growth and high levels of employment; and to provide temporary financial assistance to countries to help ease balance of payments adjustment.

Latin American Newsletters

A major source of information on political and economic developments in Latin America and the Caribbean. An intelligence briefing that reviews information from Latin American media and other sources such as senior policy makers and academics. Content includes general reports about Latin America as well as reports regarding specific countries. Indexing starts in 1967.

PovertyNet (World Bank)

The PovertyNet site is maintained by the Poverty Reduction Group, part of the Poverty Reduction and Economic Management Network at the World Bank.

PRAXIS

Resources for social and economic development. The international development homepage of Prof. Richard J. Estes of the University of Pennsylvania.

Sustainable Development Reference Link

This site has been developed specifically with the needs of public servants, academics and individuals in developing countries in mind. The site is designed to provide links to some of the most useful sites on the World Wide Web, including sites that provide software for sectoral management, economic models, data or references. The site is updated regularly. At the last update there were more than 3,300 unique annotated links in the main part of the site that in turn are linked to thousands of other sites.

Third World Network

The Third World Network is an independent non-profit international network of organizations and individuals involved in issues relating to development, the Third World and North- South issues.

World Bank

The World Bank is one of the world's largest sources of development assistance. Its primary focus is on helping the poorest people and the poorest countries. This site provides an overview of how the Bank uses its financial resources, its highly trained staff, and its extensive knowledge base to help developing countries onto paths of stable, sustainable, and equitable growth.

WWW Virtual Library: International Development

Section of the larger Virtual Library International Affairs Resources site, which includes over 2600 annotated links in a wide range of international affairs, international studies, and international relations topics.

Last Updated: 28 March 2014