Mobile apps are useful tools in clinical, teaching, and research settings because they provide the user with information at the point of need. Many Queen's resources provide mobile app versions for use by subscribers.
- Provides access to more than 60 medical titles, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, and diagnostic tools. Mobile access available.
Best Practice is a completely new concept for information delivered at the point of care. In a single source we have combined the latest research evidence, guidelines and expert opinion – presented in a step-by-step approach, covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis. Best Practice provides a second opinion in an instant, without the need for checking multiple resources. Its unique patient-focused approach represents a major new advancement in information delivery at the point of care. Mobile access available.
Publication coverage: 1981 - present
Index to English-language journals in nursing, occupational therapy, physical therapy and other allied health fields. Mobile access available.
- The Medical Letter provides objective, peer-reviewed evaluations of new FDA-approved drugs, and new information on previously approved drugs. Mobile access available.
Micromedex 2.0 provides evidence-based information related to drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine.Mobile access available.
OvidMD is a new single search interface that will locate content in the following resources: •Ovid e-books purchased by Queen’s (over 680) •Ovid Medline® (full-text links provided for journals purchased by Queen’s) •ACP Journal Club •Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews •Evidence-Based and National Guidelines (U.S) •Facts & Comparisons A to Z Drug Facts •Images extracted from Ovid e-books and e-journals (based on captions) •RelayHealth Patient Handouts •UpToDate® N.B. Included in OvidMD are brief, first page excerpts from UpToDate entries. Anyone with a personal subscription can login to their account to see the complete entry. Bracken Library does not subscribe to UpToDate. Mobile access available.
Publication coverage: Publication coverage: 1948 –
Print holdings: Index Medicus 1879-2002 at the Bracken Health Sciences Library
Over 19 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1948. Also includes links to sites providing full text articles and related resources. Mobile access available.
SpringerImages is a growing collection of scientific images that spans the scientific, technical and medical fields, including high-quality clinical images from images.MD. The continually updated collection – currently over 3.3 million images – gathers photos, graphs, histograms, figures, and tables, and is available to libraries and their patrons via a searchable online database. The SpringerImages interface enables users to search faster, more broadly and more accurately, through captions, keywords, context and more, even jumping from the image to the source article. Users can create personalized image “sets,” and can easily export images for use in their own presentations or lectures. Mobile access available