To find book reviews in history, try the following resources:
Publication coverage: 1865 - present
- Find articles in peer-reviewed journals, conference proceedings, monographs and reports covering a broad spectrum of topics.
Publication coverage: 1954 - present
Access restricted to the Queen's community (6 user limit)
- History of the United States and Canada from pre-historic times to the present.
Publication coverage: 1965 - present
- Selects reviews from a much broader range of periodicals than Book Review Digest.
Publication coverage: 1984 - present (updated monthly)
- Offers good coverage of European periodicals in the humanities and social sciences. For best results, andd the phrase "and c.r." (for compte rendu, or "review") to your keyword author or title search.
Publication coverage: 1996-
Publication coverage: 1843 - present
- Interdisciplinary index to articles, essays, books and reviews covering the Middle Ages and the Renaissance (i.e. 400 to 1700 AD).
Publication coverage: Varies with publication.
- JSTOR only has a sampling of history journals but it can be an excellent source of book reviews. To find them, limit your search to reviews by checking the box - entitled Limit to Type - toward the bottom of the main search page.
Publication coverage: 1851-2009; Index 1851-1993
- Digital reproduction of the complete newspaper. Historical New York Times (1851-2009) with Index (1851-1993) "provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times."
Publication coverage: 1996-
- From the Institute of Historical Research.
Publication coverage: Varies by title
- Like JSTOR, it only indexes a small number of history journals but one can limit your search to book reviews (from the main screen under Additional Search Options, check the box - Reviews Only).
Publication coverage: Science Citation Index: 1900 - present ; Social Sciences Citation Index: 1956 - present ; Arts and Humanities: 1975 - present
Access restricted to the Queen's community (50 user limit)
- To find book reviews, click on Advanced Search and enter your title in the search box, e.g.
Ti="America a narrative history". Click on "book review" under the restrict results drop down menu.