Queen's University - Utility Bar

Queen's University Library

Industrial Relations: Article Indexes

Journal articles are not listed in QCAT. Use an index to find magazine and journal articles. Articles are important in your research as they contain the most-up-to-date research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic. There are different types of articles: scholarly, popular or trade.

Tip: Remember to search journal title and not article title in QCAT

Key Indexes

  You are connecting from off-campus. You will be prompted to enter your NetID and password before connecting to a Queen's-only database.
A comprehensive database covering business, management, and more.... Try these keywords: human resources, human resource management, compensation plans, employment law, labor relations, training development....
Publication coverage: 1886 - present
A comprehensive database covering all fields of business. Includes full text of Harvard Business Review, Academy of Management Journal and Administrative Science Quarterly.

Other Useful Indexes

  You are connecting from off-campus. You will be prompted to enter your NetID and password before connecting to a Queen's-only database.
Publication coverage: 1982 - present
Search CBCA Business section separately. Cites articles in trade and business journals and more....
Publication coverage: Coverage varies beginning at 1977-
Provides access to major Canadian daily newspapers. Coverage varies.
Publication coverage: 1998 - present
Free registration required. The Conference Board of Canada creates and shares "insights on economic trends, public policy issues, and organizational performance."
Publication coverage: 1969 - present
Subject focus: economics. Indexes articles from journals, books, dissertations, working papers, and book reviews.
Publication coverage: Varies by publication.
Access restricted to the Queen's community (5 user limit)
Coverage varies but many titles go back to the early 1980s. Primarily a business database but it also searches newspapers and popular magazines.
Publication coverage: Varies
"Westlaw Canada's mandate is to provide coverage of unreported court decisions from 1986 forward and reported court decisions from 1977, as well as decisions published in Carswell law reports from their inception. You will also find that Westlaw Canada includes an extensive collection of decisions predating 1977 from key courts and law report series."
A news, law, and business information service, coverage varies for each publication; many go back to the 80's.
Publication coverage: 1915 - present
Indexes books, journals, government documents and NGO reports in public policy, economics, law, political science and more...
Publication coverage: 1806-
Produced by the American Psychological Association. Try search terms such as: "employee attitudes; employee benefits; human resource management; job performance; occupational stress."
Provides access to an Abstract Database and an Electronic Paper Collection. Research network sections include economics, management, negotiations and social insurance.

Useful Multidisciplinary Indexes

  You are connecting from off-campus. You will be prompted to enter your NetID and password before connecting to a Queen's-only database.
Publication coverage: 1865 - present
A multi-disciplinary index (with abstracts) to more than 10,900 publications including peer-reviewed journals, conference proceedings, monographs and reports.
Publication coverage: 1951-   (updated quarterly)
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences. Interdisciplinary and international coverage including industrial relations, human behaviour, organization theory, law and more...

Last Updated: 17 July 2009