Queen's University - Utility Bar

Queen's University Library

Italian Language and Literature: Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Dictionaries

Collins Italian Dictionary
REF PC1640.C38 2005

Copy 1 temporarily shelved at Stauffer Library - Reference Desk

DII Dizionario Inglese - Italiano
REF PC1640.D18 2001

Dictionary of Italian Literature
REF PQ4006.D45 1996

A Dictionary of Proper Names and Notable Matters in the Works of Dante
PQ4333.T7 (c.1898); PQ4333.T7 1968

Dizionario Biografico degli Italiani
REF CT1123.D6

Grande dizionario della lingua italiana
REF PC1625.B3
Volumes 1-21 (A-Z) & 2004 supplement

Italian-English dictionary = Dizionario Italiano-Inglese. (Series: Barron's foreign language guides)
REF PC1640 I75 2007

The Oxford-Duden pictorial Italian and English dictionary
REF PC1680.O9 1995t

Oxford-Paravia Italian dictionary : English-Italian, Italian-English = Oxford Paravia il Dizionario : Inglese/Italiano, Italiano/Inglese.
REF PC1640 .O94 2010

Oxford-Paravia Italian dictionary:English-Italian, Italian-English = Oxford Paravia il Dizionario : Inglese/Italiano, Italiano/Inglese/ [in collaborazione con Oxford University Press].
Online

Tesoro della Lingua Italiana delle Origini
Online

Treccani: Lingua e Linguaggi
Online

Vocabolario Etimologico della Lingua Italiana di Ottorino Pianigiani
Online

Web version of a famous Italian etymological dictionary, also usable as a general monolingual dictionary.

Encyclopedias

Dante encyclopedia
REF PQ4333.D36 2000

This reference work presents a systematic introduction to Dante's life and works and the cultural context in which his moral and intellectual imagination took shape.

Enciclopedia virgiliana
REF PA6825 .A3 1984 (vols. 1-4)

Encyclopedia of Italian Literary Studies
REF PQ4006.E536 2007 (2 vols)

Includes analytical essays on authors and works.

Encyclopedia of Medieval Literature
REF PN669.E53 2000

Encyclopedia of Contemporary Italian Culture
REF DG450.E53 2000

"This rigorously compiled A-Z volume offers rich, readable coverage of the diverse forms of post-1945 Italian culture. With over 900 entries by international contributors, this volume is genuinely interdisciplinary in character, treating traditional political, economic, and legal concerns, with a particular emphasis on neglected areas of popular culture. Entries range from short definitions, histories or biographies to longer overviews covering themes, movements, institutions and personalities, from advertising to fascism, and Pirelli to Zeffirelli."

The Feminist Encyclopedia of Italian Literature
REF PQ4063.F45 1997

Last Updated: 24 April 2013