Queen's University - Utility Bar

Queen's University Library

For access to full-text electronic journal articles, check Electronic Journals and search by journal title or subject.

Journal articles are not listed in QCAT. Use an index to find magazine and journal articles. Articles are important in your research as they contain the most-up-to-date research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic. There are different types of articles: scholarly, popular or trade.

Tip: Remember to search journal title and not article title in QCAT.

Key Databases/Indexes

  You are connecting from off-campus. You will be prompted to enter your NetID and password before connecting to a Queen's-only database.
Publication coverage: 1800 - present
Access restricted to the Queen's community (4 user limit)
Indexes books, dissertations, conference proceedings, research papers and over 2,000 journals in 30 languages. Covers sports medicine, exercise physiology, biomechanics, psychology, training techniques, coaching, physical education, physical fitness,and more....
Publication coverage: 1950 - present
Print holdings: Index Medicus 1879-2002 at the Bracken Health Sciences Library

MEDLINE® provides comprehensive coverage for the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and pre-clinical sciences. It contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from over 4,600 biomedical journals from over 70 countries.
Publication coverage: 1970 - present
Indexes peer-reviewed journals, report literature, conference proceedings, trade magazines, patents, articles from the popular press, and more....

Health Studies

  You are connecting from off-campus. You will be prompted to enter your NetID and password before connecting to a Queen's-only database.
Collection of monograph publications from Canadian research institutes, government agencies and university centres working in the area of health and medical research.
Publication coverage: 1981 - present
Index to English-language journals in nursing, occupational therapy, physical therapy and other allied health fields.
Collection of high-quality, independent evidence databases to inform healthcare decision-making at all levels.
Publication coverage: 1947 - present
Medical database covering a wide range of journals in the biomedical sciences. Particularly useful for locating drug information, as it indexes many drug journals not covered by MEDLINE.
Publication coverage: 1973 - present
Information related to human health and communicable diseases.
Publication coverage: 1975 - present
Ovid Healthstar contains citations to the published literature on health services, technology, administration, and research. It focuses on both the clinical and non-clinical aspects of health care delivery. The following topics are included: evaluation of patient outcomes, effectiveness of procedures, programs, products, services and processes; administration and planning of health facilities, services and manpower, health insurance, health policy, health services research, health economics and financial management; laws and regulation; personnel administration; quality assurance licensure; and accreditation.
Publication coverage: 1980 - present
Health-related information for both novice and experienced users. Content sources include encyclopedias and other reference tools, full-text journals and pamphlets, and videos produced by Healthology, Inc.
Access to material on unpublished information-gathering tools for clinicians which have been discussed in journal articles (e.g. questionnaires, interview schedules, tests, checklists, rating and other scales, coding schemes, and projective techniques). Over 2/3 of the tools are in medical and nursing areas such pain measurement, quality of life assessment, and drug efficacy evaluation.
Publication coverage: 1980 - present
Collection of nursing and allied health journals.
Publication coverage: 1972-
Covers a wide variety of disciplines including social sciences, biological sciences, business, statistics, environmental studies, industrial health and safety. Indexes journals, newspapers, trade publications, reports, dissertations and more.
Publication coverage: Publication coverage: 1948 –
Print holdings: Index Medicus 1879-2002 at the Bracken Health Sciences Library
Over 19 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1948. Also includes links to sites providing full text articles and related resources.

Physical and Health Education

  You are connecting from off-campus. You will be prompted to enter your NetID and password before connecting to a Queen's-only database.
Publication coverage: 1989 - present
Indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on all aspects of Australian sport. Source documents include journals, monographs, conference papers, government reports, theses, videotapes and audiocassettes.
Publication coverage: 1966 - present
Print holdings: Full-text of documents on microfiche in the Education Library: 1966 - present
Educational Resources Information Center. Indexes Education journals.
Publication coverage: 1970 - present
Subject coverage includes physical and health education, physical therapy, sports medicine, dance, sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, business, coaching and more.

Other Useful Databases/Indexes

  You are connecting from off-campus. You will be prompted to enter your NetID and password before connecting to a Queen's-only database.
Publication coverage: 1926 - present (updated weekly)
Abstracts and indexes literature published in all areas of the life sciences.
Publication coverage: 1982 - present
Indexes articles newspapers, magazines, and academic journals.
Publication coverage: 1972 - present
Gender Studies, Sexual Diversity, and Family and Social Studies.
Publication coverage: 1806-
Citations to, and summaries of, physical education topics from a psychological perspective.
Publication coverage: Science Citation Index: 1900 - present ; Social Sciences Citation Index: 1956 - present ; Arts and Humanities: 1975 - present
Access restricted to the Queen's community (50 user limit)

Find articles on a broad spectrum of topics. Can be used to search for articles which cite another author or article.

A pre-selected group of 10 citation, abstract and full-text databases covering literature published in health & medicine. Each database can be searched separately but they also can be searched as a group, from this starting point.
A pre-selected group of 3 citation, abstract, and full-text databases covering literature published in sociology. Each database can be searched separately but they also can be searched as a group, from this starting point.

Last Updated: 22 September 2011