Queen's University - Utility Bar

Queen's University Library

Medieval History: Article Indexes

Journal articles are not listed in QCAT. Use an index to find magazine and journal articles. Articles are important in your research as they contain the most-up-to-date research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic. There are different types of articles: scholarly, popular or trade.

Tip: Remember to search journal title and not article title in QCAT

Key Indexes

  You are connecting from off-campus. You will be prompted to enter your NetID and password before connecting to a Queen's-only database.
Publication coverage: 1967-
Covers all aspects of European medieval studies from 450 to 1500.
Publication coverage: 1843 - present
A bibliography drawn from over 500 medieval and renaissance journal titles covering from 400 to 1700.

Other Useful Indexes

  You are connecting from off-campus. You will be prompted to enter your NetID and password before connecting to a Queen's-only database.
Publication coverage: 1924 - present (excluding most recent 2-3 years)
Print holdings: REF PA2 .A613 (v.1-72; 1924-2001)
For Antiquity and early Medieval Latin studies.
Publication coverage: 1949-
Indexes journal articles, essays and book reviews in theology and religious studies.
Bibliographie internationale de l'Humanisme et de la Renaissance
CB361.Z9B5
For late medieval and early Renaissance, this index covers 15th and 16th century topics broadly. Time lag is about five years.
Publication coverage: 1990 - present
Covers journal articles, book reviews and essays in books about women, sexuality and gender during the Middle Ages.
Publication coverage: 1972 - present
Gender Studies, Sexual Diversity, and Family and Social Studies.
Subscription purchased by MacIsaac Memorial Fund in memory of Vera May MacIsaac, BA 1925
Publication coverage: Varies with publication.
Electronic journal archive includes such titles as: Journal of British Studies, Journal of Interdisciplinary History, Journal of the History of Ideas, Speculum, Western Intellectual History.
Publication coverage: Varies by title
Dates vary with publication. Scholarly electronic journals, includes such titles as: Chaucer Review, Journal of Interdisciplinary History, Journal of Women's History
Publication coverage: 1952 - present
For earlier coverage online see Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective.

Last Updated: 17 July 2009