MINE 448: Reference Materials
- Blasters' Handbook - Ref TN 279 B53 1998t
- CIM Directory (Canadian Inst. of Mining, Metallurgy and Petroleum) - Ref TN1.C31
- Canadian Government Executive
Drilling: the Manual of Methods, Applications and Management -
Ref TN281. D757 1997
A manual of encyclopaedic style on the drilling industry, covering fundamentals, equipment and methods, mechanics, geology for drillers, drilling operation and management as well as test and measurement.
- Environment Canada
- Extracting the Science - a Century of Mining Research
- Mine and Mill Equipment Costs - TN 345 M56 2008
The guide provides estimators with an exhaustive list of the capital and hourly cost associated with owning and operating equipment typically used in mining and mineral processing operations. It also has an introduction to the methodology and an explanation as for how to use the guide.
- Mining Cost Service - HD9506.U63 A1715 (On reserve in the Eng/Sci Library)
A two volume binder that provides annual mining cost data updates. Vol 1 covers cost information on electric power, natural gas, cost models, labour and cost indexes, and metal prices. Vol. 2 covers supplies and miscellaneous items, equipment, smelting, transportation, taxes and miscellaneous development series. Both volumes provide separate data for Canadian provinces and USA states.
- Mining and its Environmental Impact (online)
- Mining and Rock Construction Technology Desk Reference
- Ontario Ministry of Northern Development, Mines and Forestry
- Natural Resources Canada
- Smithells Metals Reference Book
- SME Mining Reference Handbook - Ref TN151 S64 2002
Includes sections on project evaluation, exploration and geology, economics and costing, blasting and excavation, ground control /support, ventilation/pumping/power, site structures and hydrology, maintenance, environmental and reclamation, and health and safety.
- SME Mining Engineering Handbook
- Smithells Metals Reference Handbook
- Statistics Canada
- Underground Mining Methods Handbook - Ref TN275 U5
Covers large variety of information on topics such as: general mine design consideration, stopes requiring minimum support and additional supports, caving method, underground equipment, financial consideration, foundation for design and mine ventilation, etc.
- Environment Canada
Last Updated: 19 January 2012