Music: Call Numbers by Instrument
Bassoon
Bibliography/Repertoire
lists
ML128 .B26
History/construction of the
Bassoon
ML950 - ML953
Studies and methods (Bassoon
family)
MT400 - MT415
Bassoon music
Solo
M75 - M79
Bassoon and piano
M253 - M254 (including transcriptions)
Bassoon duets
M288 - M289
Bassoon and orchestra
M1026 - M1027
Clarinet
Repertoire lists:
ML128 .C58
History /construction of the
clarinet
ML945 - 946
Studies and methods
MT380 - MT388
Clarinet music
Solo
M70 - M74
Clarinet and piano
M248 - M252
Clarinet duets
M288 - M289
Clarinet and orchestra
M1024 - M1025
Flute
Repertoire
lists/bibliography:
ML128 .F7
History /construction of the
flute
ML935 - 936
Studies and methods
MT340 - MT348
Flute music
Solo
M60 - M64
Flute and piano
M240 - M242
-
Transcriptions
M243 - M244
Flute duets
M288 - M289
Flute and orchestra
M1020 - M1021
Guitar
Repertoire
lists/bibliography:
ML128 .G8
History /construction of the
guitar
ML1015 .G9
Studies and methods
MT580 - MT588
Guitar music
Solo
M125 - M127
-
Transcriptions
M128 - M129
Guitar and piano
M276 - M277
Guitar duets
M292 - M293
Guitar and orchestra
M1037.4 .G8
-
and String orchestra
M1137.4 .G8
Horn
Repertoire
lists/bibliography:
ML128 .H67
History /construction of the
Horn
ML955 - ML956
Studies and methods (Horn
family)
MT420 - MT432
Horn music
Solo
M80 - M84
Horn and piano
M255 - M259
- (including transcriptions)
Horn duets
M288 - M289
Horn and orchestra
M1028 - M1029
Oboe
Repertoire
lists/bibliography:
ML128 .O2
History /construction of the
oboe
ML940 - ML943
Studies and methods (oboe
family)
MT360 - MT379
Oboe music
Solo
M65 - M69
Oboe and piano
M245 - M246
-
transcriptions
M245, M247
Oboe duets
M288 - M289
Oboe and orchestra
M1022 - M1023
Piano
Guide to finding piano scores and
books about the piano or piano music
QCAT SUBJECT HEADINGS and LC CLASS Numbers
SCORES
SOLO
- PIANO MUSIC
M20 - M39 - PIANO MUSIC
M21 - M22 (collection) - SONATAS (PIANO)
M23 - SUITES (PIANO)
M24 - PIANO MUSIC
M25 (individual pieces) - PIANO MUSIC (1 HAND)
M26 - VARIATIONS (PIANO)
M27 - MARCHES
M28 - DANCE MUSIC
M30 - M32 - PIANO MUSIC, ARRANGED
M32 - M39
CHAMBER MUSIC SCORES
- PIANO MUSIC (4 HANDS)
M200 - M212 - PIANO MUSIC (PIANOS (2))
M214 - M216 - PIANO + another instrument
M217 - M285 - FLUTE AND PIANO MUSIC
M240 - M244 - PIANO TRIOS
M312 - M314 - TRIOS (PIANO + 2 other instruments) … M310 - M344
- PIANO QUARTETS
M412 - M414 - QUARTETS (PIANO + 3 other instruments) … M410 - M449
- PIANO QUINTETS
M512 - M514 - QUINTETS (PIANO + 4 other instruments) … M510 - M549
- PIANO SEXTETS
M612 - M614 - SEXTETS (PIANO + 5 other
instruments)
M610 - M649 - PIANO WITH ORCHESTRA
M1010 - M1011 - CONCERTOS (PIANO)
M1010 - M1011 - PIANO WITH STRING
ORCHESTRA
M1110 - M1111 - CONCERTOS (PIANO WITH STRING
ORCHESTRA)
M1110 - M1111 - PIANO - INSTRUCTION AND
STUDY
MT220 - MT224 - PIANO - STUDIES AND
EXERCISES
MT225 - MT249 - PIANO MUSIC - TEACHING
PIECES
MT243 - MUSICAL ACCOMPANIMENT
MT239 - Methods for harpsichord other
keyboard instruments
MT250 - MT258
BOOKS ABOUT THE PIANO and PIANO MUSIC
- PIANO
ML650 - ML697 - PIANO - HISTORY
ML650 - ML797 - PIANO - CONSTRUCTION
ML652 - PIANO MUSIC - HISTORY
ML700 - ML747 - PIANO MUSIC - ANALYSIS,
APPRECIATION
MT140, MT145 - PIANO MUSIC - BIBLIOGRAPHY
ML128.P3 (Annotated lists of repertoire) - PIANO MUSIC - BIBLIOGRAPHY - GRADED
LISTS
ML132 .P3 - PIANO MUSIC - DISCOGRAPHY
ML156.4 .P5
Saxophone
Repertoire
lists/bibliography:
ML128 .S247
History /construction of the
saxophone
ML975 - ML976
History of saxophone music and
playing
ML978
Studies and methods
MT500 - MT508
Saxophone music
Solo
M105 - M107
-
Transcriptions
M108 - M109
Saxophone and piano
M268 - M269
Saxophone duets
M288 - M289
Saxophone and orchestra
M1034.S4 (cadenzas M1034.5.S4
-
Solo with piano
M1034.S4
Saxophone and string orchestra (&
solo with piano)
M1134.S4
Trumpet
Repertoire
lists/bibliography:
ML128 .T8
History /construction of the
trumpet
ML960 - ML961
History of trumpet music and
playing
ML963
Studies and methods
MT440 - MT448
Trumpet music
Solo
M85 - M87
-
Transcriptions
M88 - M89
Trumpet and piano
M260 - M261
Trumpet duets
M288 - M289
Trumpet and orchestra
M1030 (cadenzas M1030.5)
-
solo with piano
M1031
Trumpet and string
orchestra
M1130
-
Solo with piano
M1131
Viola
Repertoire
lists/bibliography:
ML128 .V36
-
graded lists
ML132 .V36
History /construction of the
viola
ML900 - ML901
History of viola music and
playing
ML905
Studies and methods
MT280 - MT298
Viola music
Solo
M45 - M47
-
transcriptions
M48 - M49
Viola and piano
M224 - M226
-
transcriptions
M227 - M228
Viola duets
M286 - M287
Viola and orchestra
M1014 (cadenzas M1014.5)
-
Solo with piano
M1015
Viola and string orchestra
M1114
-
Solo with piano
M1115
Violin
Repertoire
lists/bibliography:
ML128 .V8
-
graded lists
ML132 .V4
History /construction of the
violin
ML800 - ML846
History of violin music and
playing
ML850 - ML890
-
specific musical forms
ML894 - ML897
Studies and methods
MT260 - MT279
Violin music
Solo
M40 - M42
-
transcriptions
M43 - M44
Violin and piano
M217 - M221
-
transcriptions
M222 - M223
Violin duets
M286 - M287
Violin and orchestra
M1012 (cadenzas M1012.5)
-
Solo with piano
M1013
Violin and string orchestra
M1112
-
Solo with piano
M1113
Violoncello
Repertoire
lists/bibliography:
ML128 .V5
History /construction of the
violoncello
ML910 - ML911
History of violoncello music and
playing
ML915
Studies and methods
MT300 - MT318
Violoncello music
Solo
M50 - M52
-
transcriptions
M53 - M54
Violoncello and piano
M229 - M233
-
transcriptions
M235 - M236
Violoncello duets
M286 - M287
Violoncello and orchestra
M1016 (cadenzas M1016.5)
-
solo with piano
M1017
Violinoncello and string
orchestra
M1116
-
Solo with piano
M1117
Voice
Songs are generally classified by the instrumental accompaniment or as excerpts of larger dramatic works. Within each section, the scores are filed alphabetically by composer.
QCAT SUBJECT HEADINGS AND LC CLASS NUMBERS
SCORES
- VOCAL MUSIC SCORES
M1495 – M1998 - Miscellaneous collections
M1495 – M1497 - OPERAS
M1500 - OPERAS – VOCAL SCORES with
piano
M1503 - OPERAS – EXCERPTS ... Arias
with piano accomp.
M1507 and M1508 - VOCAL DUETS with orchestra
M1528- VOCAL SCORES with piano
M1529
- VOCAL SCORES with piano
- VOCAL TRIOS with piano
M1529
Searching for songs in collections? Check the SONG INDEX link on the MUSIC LIBRARY WEBPAGE
- SONGS (HIGH VOICE) with orchestra
or SONGS (MEDIUM VOICE) with orchestra or SONGS
(LOW VOICE) with orchestra
M1611, M1615 (collections) and M1613, M1617 (single songs)- VOCAL SCORES WITH PIANO
M1612, M1616 (collections) and M1614, M1618 (single songs)
- VOCAL SCORES WITH PIANO
- SONGS WITH INSTRUMENTAL
ENSEMBLE
M1613.3, M1621.3- VOCAL SCORES with piano
M1614
- VOCAL SCORES with piano
- SONGS (HIGH VOICE) with piano
or SONGS (MEDIUM VOICE) with piano or SONGS (LOW
VOICE) with piano
M1619 -- M1620 (collections) and M1621 (single songs) - SONGS, UNACCOMPANIED
M1621.2 - SONGS (HIGH VOICE) WITH
FLUTE
M1623.8 (collections and M1624.7 (single songs)
- FOLK-SONGS, [language]
M1626- M1980 - FOLK-SONGS -- UNITED
STATES
M1628 - M1677 - FOLK-SONGS, ENGLISH -- CANADA
or FOLK-SONGS, FRENCH -- Canada
M1678 - M1679 - FOLK-SONGS -- GREAT
BRITAIN
M1738 - M1739
- SACRED VOCAL MUSIC
M1999 - M5000 - ORATORIOS
M2000 - ORATORIOS -- Vocal scores with
piano
M2003 - ORATORIOS -- Excerpts
M2004 (solos) - ORATORIOS -- Excerpts,
Arranged
M2005 - M2007 - SACRED DUETS and SACRED
TRIOS
M2018 - M2019 - SACRED SONGS with
orchestra
M2102, M2105 (collections) and M2103, M2107 (single songs)- Solo with piano
M2104, M2106, M2108
- Solo with piano
- SACRED SONGS (HIGH VOICE) with piano
or SACRED SONGS (MEDIUM VOICE) with piano or SACRED
SONGS (LOW VOICE) with piano
M2110 - M2111 (collections) and M2113 - M2114 (single songs) - HYMNS
M2115 - M2146
BOOKS ABOUT VOCAL MUSIC
- VOCAL MUSIC -- HISTORY
ML1402 - ML3270 - SACRED VOCAL MUSIC –
HISTORY
ML2900 - ML3270 - SONGS -- HISTORY AND
CRITICISM
ML2500 - ML2551 and ML2800 – ML2881 - SONGS – TEXTS –
TRANSLATIONS
ML54 .6 - VOCAL MUSIC –
BIBLIOGRAPHY
ML128 .V7 - SONGS – BIBLIOGRAPHY
ML128 .S3 (repertoire lists, song indexes, program notes) - SONGS -- BIBLIOGRAPHY -- Graded
lists
ML132 .S6 - SONGS -- DISCOGRAPHY
ML156.4 .V7
- SINGING -- INSTRUCTION AND
STUDY
MT820 - MT893 - SINGING -- METHODS and
SIGHT-SINGING
MT870
Last Updated: 13 August 2009